Are mint numbers really worthy?

0 21
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

I have seen this a couple of times. People talk a lot about mint numbers on WAX. The NFT assets having lower mint numbers have a higher value compared to that of recent mint numbers which are very huge. For some reason people consider lower mint numbers to be precious. I don't know if that is for pride or not but I find it a little difficult to understand why it is precious. People maybe see those NFTs as precious assets because they were minted during the initial days of the game.

I have had a few people reaching out to me in DM asking for lower mint number assets. I was initially thinking that this was the case only on the WAX blockchain but there are people who do this on Hive as well. That is when I realized that this is one way to add value to the NFTs apart from their regular market price. People want to hold or add lower mint number NFTs to their collectibles. On the Hive engine, NFTs comes with an ID number which helps in understanding if the NFT has an old mint number or a new mint number.

Source

I also found that one of the NFTs issued by DCity during the early days had some spelling mistakes. It was never corrected because it was not considered important but someone bought that NFT for a higher price when it was offered for the sale considering the fact that even though it is the same NFT but it is unique because of the spelling mistake it had. I don't know how others see this but I personally see this to be unusual behavior. This makes me feel that anything can be made precious in the gaming world and digital world. I have heard stories about how the character dress and vests in the Ragnarok game get sold for millions.

Before starting my journey on Steem Hive, I used to play Dota 2 and I have seen this behavior there too. Some limited and rare items get sold for an insane amount of price. But the sad thing is that people cannot withdraw the money accumulated from selling. There are still ways where people do P2P transfers. I guess Steam then started restricting that too. But yeah assets can be of great value even if it is just fluffy digital assets.

Even though we don't have the concept of mint numbers on Splinterlands, there is still the concept of precious things in Splinterlands too. But yeah they have a collection on WAX for their assets and probably people can make the mint numbers precious over there. I have received offers for my Rising Star assets from some people. They have asked me to sell Rising Star assets for a better price than the market just because it had a lower mint number. I did not take up that offer because even I was confused if in the future the mint numbers would have a better value. I decided to keep it for myself. But maybe in the future if the offer is huge, I might take it.


If you like what I'm doing on Hive, you can vote me as a witness with the links below.

Vote @balaz as a Hive Witness
Vote @kanibot as a Hive Engine Witness



Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

4
$ 0.21
$ 0.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for bala41288
1 year ago

Comments