An interview with the General Manager (tips on how to get the job)

1 18
Avatar for awakening
3 years ago

Sweaty and shaky hands, that's how we usually feel when we have a job interview. How much more if you are going to be interviewed by your General Manager? Keep in mind that interviews are the most crucial part in a job hunt or assessment. Whether you like it or not, you will be judged on how confident you are to take the job. It matters how you answer the questions and how you deliver them. Let me share to you some tips and how I confidently converse with the boss and landed with my Supervisor post.

Proper mindset before the interview. Your goal is to give a good impression to the interviewer and get the job. There is no room for nervousness. Set aside superiority, the one you will talk to is also a person not a god.

There will be no wrong answers. Interviews mainly is just an assessment. What matters to the interviewer is that how you handle the situation(being interviewed) itself.

Don't be stiff. Joke around if possible. But, of course don't make jokes out of nowhere. Use hand gestures if necessary in elaborating things.

SMILE Yes by simply smiling relieves awkwardness and pressure in a conversation. It's the very basic to a good impression too.

Be confident but not to the extreme. Be honest when you didn't know what is asked. Let them repeat for you and if possible ask them to rephrase. Talk with sense. Avoid unnecessary talking if you are not asked.

GM: Hey ****** Good morning! How are you?

ME: Good morning boss! I'm all good, looking great as always. (smiling). And how is the best GM doing?

GM: As amazing as ever (laughing). So let's start with, do you have any suggestions on how to make the workplace better? I mean do you need anything in particular? Tell me about your thoughts any problems? your workmates?

ME: None that you are aware of. You know how busy our branch is and how many complaints we handle in a day compared to other branches. And you know mostly the reason for that. Well if you don't mind, stop getting staffs from other branches that you know can't handle the workload here. For a month how many staffs you transferred just because of their performance. They usually throw their weakest links here and its us who suffers. We are not a training ground. With regards to my workmates, I have nothing against them personally but workwise you know those whose performance is below our standard and that you need to do something about it.

GM: noted!(laughing) I'll be transferring M**** and U***** this month. Did you know that you are the majority's favorite? Tell me how did you win them?

ME: What you see is what you get boss. I'm a very transparent person. Just think of why are you keeping me for years ? That's probably the same reason why I get along with them smoothly.

GM: Because you are stupid I guess?(laughing)

ME: Well, I guess that's the reason. I'm your best employee after all (laughing)

GM: Supervisor position is vacant, Among your colleagues who would you recommend? and why him/her?

ME: MYSELF (laughing). Hey you got me why would I recommend someone else?

GM:(laughing) Seriously, who?

ME: G****, A**** or J***** either of them. They're a good choice but of course no one can beat the best. And I'm your best choice (laughing).Kidding!

GM:(laughing) Okay we are done with the workplace and your workmates. How bout me as a boss what can you say?

ME: You are the best GM I've ever worked with (laughing) considering this is my 1st job. Kidding, but seriously I've never seen a manager as hands on like you. I just don't like your temper.(laughing)

GM:(laughing) T'was indeed a great conversation with you. Thank you and give me 2 months for your new position (smiling). Congratulations!

Sponsors of awakening
empty
empty
empty

Note: I am not a Professional writer. This article has not been proof-read. You may see some errors in grammar or spelling. Suggestions/recommendations are highly appreciated. Thank you

2
$ 0.29
$ 0.29 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of awakening
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for awakening
3 years ago

Comments

That's some helpful tips for me ^^ I'm a fresh grad so I am at lost on how should I approach interviews. Though I haven't formally applied due to the pandemic but I will keep those tips in mind :))

$ 0.00
3 years ago