Just remnants from the past

0 19
Avatar for av
Written by
1 year ago

I have walked a thousand miles away from the past. I decided to just stop recreating moments in my head. It was not doing me any good. Although I admit it has put me in momentary bliss every time.

But last night, I saw you. Not outside my house. Not at the town. Not anywhere else but inside my dream.

Your face appeared but it was blurry. Yet I have felt bliss again. It was like that but I thought I didn't want to linger again.

I have my life now and it would be unfair to let you in the picture again.

Let me just write this then and forget about the dream. I know it has nothing to do with you but just remnants of the past inside my head.

You were there.

The feeling is there.

The past was resurrected.

But it was just all in my head.

I now know that the past can't be completely erased no matter what we do.

And we just had to live by constantly reminding ourselves that the past is past.

From time to time like last night, and also the other previous nights, when you were randomly appearing, I know you will resurface.

It is not my interest anymore to dwell on the past. Just that it bothers me not to talk about it.

For now, allow me to be. Tomorrow it will be back to the present.

When the time has done its part, the heart has healed, and the hurt has diminished. And only scars remain to remind the self that at one point in time we've been that.

Yet there are tests for us to determine if we have overcome things indeed.

I tell the air and the clouds and the rain that they can't test me for this because I have already passed.

Yet they aren't to blame for my vulnerability.

Some part of me is still hung up. I couldn't say that I am in denial because in all honestly I am indeed healed already.

It is not complicated. It is as simple as that. I have moved on already.

The trees have grown. Some have been cut down. Some were used for firewood. Some are crafted to be part of people's living rooms.

The components of clouds have changed. The ones gracing the sky have already changed millions of times.

The past is a thousand miles away from the present. Or rather, my past is. And I should always remember that.

3
$ 0.31
$ 0.31 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for av
Written by
1 year ago

Comments