BTS: Wish You Were Here

13 23
Avatar for annoftheroses
3 years ago

Behind The Song Pt. 6

Please listen while you're reading. Thanks ♥

I can be tough
I can be strong
But with you, it's not like that at all

Wish You Were Here” is a song by Avril Lavigne, a Canadian singer. She and the Swedish songwriter/producers Max Martin and Shellback wrote this song. It's one of the Goodbye Lullaby tracks in which Avril reveals her weak side.

And I remember, all those crazy things you said
You left them running through my head
You're always there, you're everywhere
But right now I wish you were here

"I allowed myself to be vulnerable. I think it's during the real moments that people can relate the most. Those who have heard the album have had very strong emotional reactions to the songs, so I realized that when something is so real, it will probably touch somebody. The beauty of music is that it's open to interpretation," she said.

 All those crazy things we did
Didn't think about it, just went with it
You're always there, you're everywhere
But right now I wish you were here

Avril explained the meaning of this song, "Missing somebody for a day, for a week, for a month. Somebody you've had a falling out with, there are so many different circumstances in life that we all go through when we do truly miss somebody."

What I'd do to have you
Near, near, near
I wish you were here

Marc Webb directed the song and finds Avril grieving her former lover's absence. Avril said that her tears there are real.

AOL Music asked Lavigne if this song is about her former partner, Sum 41 frontman Deryck Whibley, who she filed for divorce in October 2009.

I love the way you are
It's who I am, don't have to try hard
We always say, say it like it is
And the truth is that I really miss

She replied, "People will always make their assumptions. I never really get into exact detail about what my songs are about. I put them out there and hope they inspire people. The message with 'Wish You Were Here' is looking back and remembering all the good times and missing somebody. And we all go through missing someone at some point in our lives, whether it's someone we've separated from or had a falling out with."

No, I don't wanna let go
I just wanna let you know
That I never wanna let go
Let go, oh, oh

Wish You Were Here is the anthem of those long-distance relationships (LDR), parent's whose working far away from their children, close friends who lost contact, and that feeling of someone you miss dearly.

And in this pandemic, we really feel this song right? We just really miss... everything.

I wish you were here

  • Song: Wish You Were Here

  • Singer: Avril Lavigne

  • Genre: Pop Rock

  • Producer: Max Martin, Shellback

  • Released‎: September 9, 2011

Thank you for jamming :)

3
$ 0.00
Sponsors of annoftheroses
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for annoftheroses
3 years ago

Comments

Pls see my post

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'll check it out

$ 0.00
3 years ago

She is very good singer

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes she is :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hmm

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am subscribe already please follow view and subscribe me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I have had sub you, please back me and keep in touch

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay. Done ☺️

$ 0.00
3 years ago