BTS: Leaving on a Jet Plane

7 16
Avatar for annoftheroses
3 years ago

Behind The Song Pt. 4

Please listen while you're reading. Thanks ♥

All my bags are packed
I'm ready to go
I'm standin' here outside your door
I hate to wake you up to say goodbye
But the dawn is breakin'
It's early morn
The taxi's waitin'
He's blowin' his horn
Already I'm so lonesome
I could die

Leaving on a Jet Plane is a well-renowned song written by John Denver in 1966 and most famously recorded by Peter, Paul, and Mary.

The original title of the song was "Babe, I Hate to Go," but then Denver's producer, Milt Okun convinced him to change the title.

This was written by a very young John Denver, who was then a member of the Chad Mitchell Trio before beginning his solo career in the 1970s.

So kiss me and smile for me
Tell me that you'll wait for me
Hold me like you'll never let me go
'Cause I'm leavin' on a jet plane
Don't know when I'll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

Denver wrote this during a layover at Washington airport, "Not so much from feeling that way for someone, but from the longing of having someone to love."

As the child of a military family, Denver spent most of his childhood moving from one location to another. Likewise, in an effort to find his way into life as a professional musician, Denver was compelled to travel and live cross country, jumping back and forth between the lives and relationships he had formed.

Now the time has come to leave you
One more time
Let me kiss you
Then close your eyes
And I'll be on my way
Dream about the days to come
When I won't have to leave alone
About the times, I won't have to say

The Chad Mitchell Trio recorded the song that year, as did Spanky & Our Gang and Peter, Paul and Mary. It only became a hit when the latter act covered the song two years later.

But, I'm leavin' on a jet plane
Don't know when I'll be back again
Oh babe, I hate to go

  • Song: Leaving on a Jet Plane

  • Singer: John Denver

  • Genre: Folk

  • Released‎: 1966

"Leaving on a Jet Plane" is a song about the difficult choice of whether or not to leave his loved one behind in order to pursue his career. And this happens most of the time - on our parents, loved ones, friends, and to ourselves.

Thank you for reading and listening ^^

5
$ 0.00
Sponsors of annoftheroses
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for annoftheroses
3 years ago

Comments

nice fock song.... keep shearing with this type of song

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much, buddy :)

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just know the chorus of this song... 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

u should listen to it again hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago