My life as a college student

0 28
Avatar for annc
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Writing, Experience, ...
Photo by the Author

Hi! I'm Ann and I'm 20 years old from Manila, Philippines. I'm just a simple girl who just have a simple dream. I stopped studying last year due to the pandemic reasons plus I still have a problem in my previous but this school year I decided to enroll and continue my studies via online class but in a different school. Why? Read my this article and you'll know the reason.

Now, in this article I will tell my experience and thoughts about online class. Is it good or not?

I'm currently enrolled in a University here in Quezon City. And, I'm taking Bachelor of Science in Civil Engineering as my course in college. Actually, when I was in senior high I spend my SHS life in an engineering school but I was just Senior high school that time. That is actually a private school but my manage to pay my tuition there and yes, there's a tuition but I really want to study there because of its good and high quality of education. I'm not the smartest in our class but I really learned a lot because the teachers there is really good.

Yes, I studied in an engineering school before but I decided that I will not continue my studies there because of tuition hike. According to the CNN Philippines (2020), the Commission on Higher Education (CHED) have not yet approve any tuition fee increase even though a lot of schools proposed for tuition fee increase. And this news article was published June 10, 2020. I'm trying to look for any articles about tuition increase this year 2021 but I cannot see any news or article about it. But still, the sad part here is that I chose to transfer in a different school because of tuition hike in the school where I studied before. Plus, paying a high tuition knowing that its just an online class is just a waste of money because we can't use the facilities of the school. So that's the reason why I transferred into a different school.

So our classes started last September 06, 2021 and the first week is so boring. Why? It's because the first week of college is the adjustment period of the students and professors and it means that we don't have classes in that first one week. We haven't met our prof that time but we already have our class schedule and also, me and my classmates already have a group chat where we can message each other.

In our second week of classes, in that week I got annoyed because our professors are missing and we don't know how to contact them. Like, we already know who our teacher is because it is already visible in our school website but they are not attending classes or even contacting us. I even told my classmates that we need to look for them because other sections already met all of their professors and their discussion already started while in our section we're still waiting for them. I also told the that the bad side of it is that once the preliminary exam is near of course those professors will give us a lot of activities and will rush us because of the deadlines.

On the third week of our classes, that's the time where we met almost all of our professors and of course the discussions already started and that time I can see that our prof is good because we really learned from them. The classes during that this week is smooth.

On the forth week I guess that's the time where they gave activities and quizzes but not so many. And I think, this was the last week where I can rest even if we have activities and quizzes. After this I realize that my thoughts during second week is true because guess what? They gave us a lot of rush activities and quizzes and its really hard. Plus, our schedule has changed after that week and there's a change in prof too which confuse all of us.

On the 5th and 6th week of classes is the most challenging week for me because I can't even rest. I have classes during Monday, Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday and it means that Tuesday, Friday and Sunday is our rest days but the truth is that we can't even rest our mind because of a lot of school works and quizzes. We even took our preliminary exams even if our professors didn't discuss the last lessons for the prelim. Every single day I can feel that my mind will explode because of too much information. And I hope, our Education heads and doing something to help not just the students but also the teachers because I know they are too tired because of the new normal system.

Photo by the author during her exams review

All we want is to learn but why it feels like we're just passing activities and taking quizzes. Studying and attending the class is not exciting anymore and the essence of studying is slowly fading.

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of annc
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for annc
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Story, Writing, Experience, ...

Comments