The 'newbie syndrome' and the 'comment fatigue syndrome'

13 28
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

When I was relatively newer in read cash, say the first 20 days I used to comment a lot because I read that commenting fetches points. So I used to start from the 'new' section and start commenting on the articles. Irrespective of the type and quality of the article I used to comment, whether photographs or write ups or poems.

My comments were not those spam types but proper 2-3 sentences related to the article, because somewhere I read that a comment should have at least 60 characters. Not those 'nice article' type. I went to the 'first post' section and thereafter the 'hot' section'. Everywhere I did the same - commenting, in the expectation of more points and more earning.

In some cases my comment was longer than the article because there is no dearth of one two line articles in read cash. I used to understand that this is not an article but an attempt to increase the count of articles posted, but still then my fervor continued. In a day I used to comment on about 50 to 60 articles/ short posts/ pictures.

I will name it the 'newbie syndrome'.

Then after 20 days I started questioning myself, what the hell am I doing- do not stoop so low? Articles that did not deserve comments were commented upon by me and most where like this only. I realized I am wasting my time and the little grey matter that is left inside my head, commenting on such articles. Maybe I made a few short posts also about it and also receiving low points.

Then Telesfor sir came to my rescue and made me understand the whole thing.

Now I have come out of it. Still I scan the new, first post and the hot sections but now my purpose is to dig out good articles to read and comment. And man, I have to dig deep to find them, they are far and few. One thing I saw that there is no qualitative difference between all the three sections, it is only that the 'hot' section articles have more comments on them, that's why they are deemed to be hot. So I don't feel like commenting much.

I will call it the 'comment fatigue syndrome'

Now I comment on maximum 5-6 articles daily which I feel deserve a comment. Also I now use the down vote option and the report option also. I report mostly one -two liner articles. This again I do for 5-6 articles daily. I generally don't use the 'move to spam' unless I am sure of it.

Even now I get low points but I have stopped running after points, for me it is a futile effort. Previously I used to stay on this site for around 6-7 hours at least, now I spend about 2-3 hours daily. I know I will have the 2-3 daily visitors and genuine commentators to my article, and 1-2 spam type comments. The genuine ones are close to my heart and I don't want to lose them.

For me writing an article takes about 2 hours- studying. thinking. making an outline, filling the content, reviewing, and then publishing. For 1 week I participated in one of those writing competitions and had to write two articles- it was so tough and taxing for me. So I stopped participating in competitions for sponsorship.

Mental peace is more important.

Now I see lot of 'expert opinion' articles about how to get more points, but I am sure they themselves are clueless about it.

Side note: For the last few days I was tracking my points just before and after posting my article. I noticed that after posting, my point increases by 5. If I keep aside my interest in writing and only take a monetary view then that 5 points is valued presently at $0.012, that's 1.2 cents. It is just an observation which I shared, I don't have any problem with it.

13
$ 2.10
$ 1.82 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.27 from @Telesfor
$ 0.01 from @CryptoSmart
Sponsors of aniruddhasen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

Comments

Yes same to me

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I think the newbie syndrome happens with all, but for some it continues for a longer period.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks @CryptoSmart

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks @Telesfor sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for this. We all should know that commenting is just a parttime job here to earn points, the real purpose of this platform is to write good articles. And you will start gaining your audience once you start posting informative and appealing articles. Then you'll start gaining more points. Techniques will come next to earn more points. But we should work fairly here. Let's not tolerate spamming as it will ruin the good reputation of this platform. Let's all help get rid of these spammers. If you happen to encounter spammers, please report it to community watch https://read.cash/c/community-watch-b2c7 And you might want to help us gain more signs for the petition of these spammers to permanently banned here. 👇👇

http://chng.it/v4QhH9WNpj

Thank you. Your help will be much appreciated

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Sure, signed the petition. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Welcome.. i support those who are speaking the truth and oppose to spamming

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It really takes time to make articles unless it has no quality but if a writer aiming for the quality it really takes time. I am doing the same thing only comments to those articles which were constructed well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, cant lose mental peace in this rat race for points. That's why I wrote this article, I will find a few like minded people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

yeah, there's points mania happening on this site now. They don't think about the common goal of this site.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Where money is involved the for most a quick buck becomes the goal, I think it happens in all sites, but the point is how low can someone got for it, at least some thought should be spared for the site that is giving them earning. They want to cut the golden egg laying hen rather than enjoy the golden egg.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah precisely tsk money is the root of evil, people forget the real essence of being h here because they are hungry for a few bucks.ts,k I pity the hen.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At present I dont see light at the end of the tunnel.

$ 0.00
3 years ago