The impermanence of relationships

22 63
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

Father is an important pillar in our life. In our part of the world he is generally the sole bread earner of the house. A mother looks after the whole household affairs. Father is revered more and mother is loved more.

From a boy’s perspective, we are generally more attached to mother. In the childhood father is taken more as awe, the one who goes out to work, has a big friend circle among colleagues, who fulfills our childish demands. Sometimes he lovingly loves and sometimes he strictly loves. He also keeps track of how we are doing in studies, controls our mischief. In a nut shell he is like the lighthouse giving direction to the family.

Except in odd cases it is this way only. A father’s love for his child compared to mothers love, though underrated but still it is as true and solid as the Sun. Especially in the growing ages he is the guide in all educational and outdoor matters. He is the one who prepares and propels us to the vagaries of the outside world; he gives power to the wings that will take us far in life.

He is the pillar on which we take support and then move on in our adult life. Even in our initial career he is a guide and advisor when we face problems.

Then a time comes he grows old and passes away.

Generally the man of the house goes first, the women outlives the husband. And that becomes the first death in our family. It is a shock to both the mother and the children, however old they might be. Though a few deaths may have happened in the extended family, but this is different. This is like a jab on the chin. If he has been suffering for sometime then it prepares us mentally for the impending passing away. If it is a sudden death, then the blow is huge.

It is almost 10 years that my father left this world.

When I look back to those nine years I notice a peculiar thing. Slowly the remembering reduces. Now he is boxed in a picture frame and memories linger on. But with time I actually remember him less. When alive we talked almost daily but now I think months go before I remember him. Even if the picture is there, it becomes just a cursory glance sometimes. But the actual remembering happens only twice or thrice a year. On his birthday and death day I put a garland on the picture.

It seems life has moved on and we have left him back at some point of time. My son was 10 years old then and now he is 19. As due to my service I stayed mostly outside, guarding the borders, so my son’s memory is limited to the yearly visit we had to our home. I asked him a few days back if he remembers his grandfather sometimes and he said no. May be they did not stay together for long, that’s why. He, in his youth is busy with his studies and friends.

Now I am playing the role what my father played with me.

I think that is the reality of life and the impermanence of relationship bonding. At one stage what seemed to be an integral and irreplaceable part of life, with time it fades away. Now the missing him part is gone, only a memory lingers on.

The day will come when I will take my father’s place and the same will be repeated again, and again, and again. Memory of a person is limited to one generation up and one generation down. After that it is only a name, and even after that the name also gets erased.

I think life is correctly meant to be that way, coming from thin air and going back to thin air- body wise and memory wise. Only that way life moves on, we cannot cling to the past and live. This has been repeated through ages. The world may remember someone for his deeds but within a family it is always going to be like this.

And this will be true for all types relationship bonding's.

Next will be my turn and after that my son’s. We all will be washed away like names written on the sands of time.

(Loosely based on my life experience with him)

44
$ 3.12
$ 2.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
Sponsors of aniruddhasen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aniruddhasen
3 years ago

Comments

I cannot relate when it comes to father relationship talks I don't have a father just a sperm donor to my mom, it sucks you know. It's good that you copied your father way of taking care of you when you are a little, now that you are a father yourself.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

[Removed comment]

$ 0.00
3 years ago

No doubt a Father is the hero of every child. We must say that he lives only for his family. And his importance is only felt when he left this world.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes that is true, in growing years we start getting irritated on him but later we understand the importance of his words.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah exactly. We normally feel the importance of relations and things when we lost them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

our father is hero and backbone...but we did not respect them...as usual we shuld

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We should and we should teach our children to do so also.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Telesfor sir.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now I miss my father, 😟 he passes away year 2013, it's true we forgot him sometimes, we sometimes forget the day of his death, we're not that close but I love him, It's just that we're really not close 😟 but I miss him.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Closeness is the intricacy of the bonding, the relationship is always there. Even those with close bonding, memories tend to fade away.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We all know the real value of relationship and relationship is the awesome thing we know...we can feel every care and also hate ...i wanna say like there is always twist in relation and we have to trust while we are in relation and love from every excepts whatever we have to 😁😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes very truly said.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parents are the most precious gifts of God for children. Parents consist of a father and mother who give birth to us and nurture us with love and affection right from childhood. Our parents take care of us from the day we come into this world as infants and nurture us until we have grown old enough to take care of ourselves. Thanks for sharing good day!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, they are the most important aspect of our life.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes dear so they deserve our respect, love and affection too. Thank you dear.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Good Article I love both of them

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Parents are people who can be compared to the world. We fulfill our wishes in return for Father's bloodshed, but we never asked Dad if you ate. Even then the Father fulfills all your desires. I love my parents the most.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is true we love our parents but after their death slowly the remembering fades with years. That reality I have tried to bring out through my article from my personal experience.

$ 0.00
3 years ago