Resolving Postpartum Depression

0 19
Avatar for angelofdeath
3 years ago

Resolving postpartum depression is important not only for the benefit of the woman but also for the baby and the whole family. Because the mother is often the center of her child’s life, her behavior affects the child. And the well-being of the mother and the baby affects the well-being of the family.

Because this condition affects the whole family, resolving postpartum depression is a family responsibility. It is important for a woman to be supported by her husband, family members, and others.

Family and Friends Support. According to “The Family: A Proclamation to the World,” “Husbands and wives have a solemn responsibility to love and care for each other and for their children.” 3 Key steps in meeting the challenge of postpartum depression are strengthen the relationship between the couple and the man sharpens his feelings. The newborn mother needs her husband's help and support in activities like this:

Substituting housework and caring for other children.

Limiting the number of guests to have a peaceful atmosphere. (However, for some women, having guests can reduce the symptoms of loneliness.)

Helping the mother get enough rest, eat right, and exercise.

Helping with baby care.

Gaining knowledge about postpartum depression.

Giving priesthood blessings when needed.

Stay by his side — listen, take care of him, and just accompany him. At the same time, hugging can make you feel better even if you just say: "Maybe you are having a hard time."

Encourage the newborn mother to seek medical help if needed.

Rachel, who suffered from postpartum depression after giving birth to her third child, says, “The smallest task seemed overwhelming because I had no energy and no energy. I am so grateful to understand and be kind to my wife and help me get the help I really need. ”

A man may have difficulty understanding postpartum depression, and sometimes he may even be confused, irritable, angry, conscientious, worried, or shy. Asking for advice or reading can help her increase her understanding of postpartum depression and find out how she can be more helpful. He and his wife would benefit if he did.

Johanna, who suffered from postpartum depression after giving birth to twins prematurely, said, “Even though Sam and I had a hard time with that experience, our marriage was stronger. Our feelings are closer than ever. We helped solve the problems. I look to his priesthood blessings. We have really communicated with each other and with the Lord. ”

Relatives and Church members will increase father's support. Kathleen H. Hughes, a former counselor in the Relief Society general presidency, recounted her experience with postpartum depression and how others have helped her:

“After the birth of our son…, I felt very sad. Many of the women in my family suffer from postpartum depression and, as you know, in those days doctors did little to help women with this condition. I fought my grief alone.

“But those difficult times for me were facilitated and eased by the kind women in the ward who cared for my children and me physically, emotionally, and spiritually — helping me through the ordeal that. ”4

Women will find additional support in organizations for newborn mothers. Christine, who lives far away from her relatives and is depressed after giving birth to her first child, reports: “When I talked to other young mothers at my housing complex, I found out that many of my peers were going through the same thing. It really helped — and I even laughed instead of crying. ”

Doctor Treatment. Newborn mothers may consider seeking the help of a professional, including seeking advice from LDS Family Services (see www.ldsfamilyservices.org) or the appropriate person recommended by a health care provider. For some, medication may be needed, prescribed by a psychiatrist or other physician.

Self Care. It is important for newborn mothers to take care of themselves and rest as much as possible, eat nutritious food, and spend “self time” with groups of mothers or children playing.

In addition, because motherhood requires a lot of physical and emotional needs, mothers should set realistic goals to keep up, remembering that “everything has its season” (Ecclesiastes 3: 1). Elizabeth, who gave birth to four daughters in just a few years, says, “It is impossible to stop working at home and cooking when there are children in need of clean clothes and lunch. It helps me to do just a little bit each day — a laundry sink, cleaning the bathroom sink (instead of the whole bathroom), planning meals, and having my wife do the shopping. Seeing something I did, at least a little each day, was fun. ”

Other Helpful Activities. Other activities to resolve and fight postpartum depression may also help:

Listening to uplifting music.

Reading the scriptures and other inspiring books. Anna said she enjoyed reading especially 2 Nephi 4, which records Nephi's despair and suffering, and as she further recognized the Lord's love for her: “My God hath been my support; he hath led me through mine afflictions ”(2 Nephi 4:20).

Journal writing. Rachel says, “When I wrote in my journal, I was able to express my despair. It helped me to know more about what seemed to be the cause of my grief. It also helped me start counting my blessings. ”

Asking for help and comfort in prayer. Anna said, “When I was sad I found it harder to feel the comfort of the Holy Ghost that I so desperately needed. I tried to fight the negative voices that weakened me and made me doubt my ability to overcome my negative feelings. ” Johanna asked herself and the Lord in personal prayer and meditation, "Heavenly Father, what should I learn from this?"

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for angelofdeath
3 years ago

Comments