Despite the Pandemic, We Must Keep Working

10 57
Avatar for andrianlover
2 years ago

Hi, I'm not actively writing because of work. That's difficult. We have to go to Boven Digoel. Difficult to find a signal for the internet. But that's another story. I will tell stories about my work.

My boss met with the Papuan Provincial Police Chief

July 12, 2021

That night, I received a call from one of the bosses in the office. The man asked if I was willing to accept a business trip to Papua. I didn't answer the request. I don't understand why I have to go. Because this job doesn't come from our department.

I sought information from friends in the department. Why do they refuse to go on official trips to Papua. My friend said that they didn't dare to leave the house. This is because two of our employees died of Covid-19.

Currently, the islands of Java and Bali have imposed restrictions on social interactions such as a lockdown. Everyone who wants to enter another city must show a business travel letter from the office and show a certificate of anti-covid vaccine. It is mandatory administration. And, my friends refused to do the PCR test.



July 13, 2021

The sun welcomed my enthusiasm to go to the office. As I said before, my office has a lockdown policy. No one goes to the office. I went to the office to prepare documents for my official trip to Papua. Before I start work, I enjoy a cup of coffee.

A few minutes later, I typed a letter of assignment to prove my trip from Jakarta to Papua. Then, I finished some other paperwork. Then, I took a Canon 6D Mark II camera to document the activities of the big boss in Papua. All preparations are complete.

Then, I took out my cell phone and signed up for a PCR test at one of the clinics. I like the program from the clinic because there is a discount if I register on their website. After that, I went to the clinic for the PCR.

The officer from the laboratory at the clinic said I would receive the results of the PCR test after 10 hours. Ok. I went home to prepare clothes, books, notebooks, and all the tools needed for the job.

In the middle of the night, I received a message on whatsapp. It was the result of a PCR test with the result being negative. I'm looking for an assignment letter for a business trip, an anti-covid vaccine certificate and PCR test results.

Now that we're going to the airport, I start a conversation with myself. I ordered a taxi that took me to Soekarno Hatta International airport. Everyone who wants to enter the island of Java or leave the island of Java must validate documents such as a certificate from the PCR results and a vaccine certificate. I escaped and we flew from Jakarta to Papua.



July 14, 2021

The plane flew at 03.00 in the morning and arrived in Jayapura, Papua at 09.00 in the afternoon. We were above the clouds for 6 hours. Extraordinary. However, the time difference between Jakarta and Papua is 2 hours. Maybe we were above the clouds for 4 hours.

The plane we were on landed in Sentani, Jayapura, Papua. The first place we visited was Hotel, Suni Grand Lake & Resort. When we arrived at the hotel, there was a slight problem. Hotels in Indonesia do not open rooms before 2 pm. So, from 09.00 am to 02.00 noon, waiting is the most boring job.

I just found out that in this city issued a rule to close all public activities at 06.00 pm. We have to find a restaurant. We were hungry though. Dinner was late because we had to find an open restaurant.



July 15, 2021

Today, we went to the office of the District Election Supervisory Agency in Jayapura. Then, we continued our journey to the Office of the Election Supervisory Body for Papua Province. The big boss gave instructions for the preparation of supervising the re-election in Boven Digoel.

The decision of the Constitutional Court stipulates that the regional head election in Boven Digoel must be repeated. Therefore, we supervise Papua. To maintain security while working in Boven Digoel, Big Boss met with the Papuan Regional Police Chief. They, I mean the police gave us security guarantees while we were there.



July 16, 2021

The distance from Jayapura to Boven Digoel is very far even though they are in the same province. We booked a small plane to Boven Digoel. 1 hour 30 minutes is the time in the sky from Papua. First day in Boven Digoel and this is my second experience to Boven Digoel. I've been here in 2019.

Not waiting any longer, Big Boss headed to the office of the Boven Digoel Regency General Elections Supervisory Agency. We were in different cars. Wherever the Boss goes, we follow. I took photos and wrote notes for the news script. That's my job while here. I couldn't let go of a single important moment from my big boss's activities.



July 17, 2021

After breakfast, we visited several polling stations and vote counts for re-voting for regional head elections in Boven Digoel.

The problem with regional head elections in remote areas is the difficulty of registering prospective voters. There are people who have the right to vote, some are registered as voters and some are not registered as voters. Some voters who were not registered as voters protested and that would be a problem again.

One full day, we worked together in the rain. My clothes are wet. But I also have to run from place to place chasing every interesting point of view to make the big boss photo look good. So, my clothes got wet from the rain and sweat.

After all the work is done, when the night invites to sleep, my body feels tired and I can only look at the stars while praying for all my dreams.



July 18, 2021

We left Boven Digoel and flew by small plane to Jayapura. Tonight, as I write my travel notes, this is the last night in Papua. Tomorrow afternoon, we will fly from Jayapura, Papua to Jakarta.

Read the news that I wrote here:


8
$ 4.75
$ 4.60 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 2
Sponsors of andrianlover
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for andrianlover
2 years ago

Comments

Wow! I am amazed with the hardwork sir. Keep safe always and rest for some time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I haven't had time to rest, they say I'm crazy at work

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not bad to be crazy at work. just have a rest because we cannot function properly if our mind and body are tired.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Really busy. Good luck on your journey. Take proper rest too. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I rest, I will lose the chance to get energy working like Thor

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woow, you are really busy these past few days. I pray for your safety 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

prayer from you is new energy for me, I pray for you too my friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank youuu.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are a busy man there.. Hope you are doing fine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

thank you Jane, this will still take up my time in readcash for this semester's final exam and research proposal for masters

$ 0.00
2 years ago