【WATCH★(•ᴗ•)★THIS】: The Seven Deadly Sins

19 43
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Series in one sentence:
A group of super-powerful fighters are only super-powerful when it's necessary for the plot.

Series in more sentences:
A young princess goes out to find seven legendary fighters to save her imprisoned family from the "holy knights" that started taking matters into their own hands.
But these legends are said to be criminals and nobody has seen them in years.

Series in one selective, crusty image:

I enjoyed myself, but if the main hero hadn't shown off his cool moves so early in the game, I would've stopped after the first episode.

Upon watching, you're immediately introduced to the worst clichés the anime branch has to offer; like the soft-voiced, angelic girl character who cares about everyone and cries about everything while sad piano music plays in the background, the "funny" sexual harassment, an aggressive blood-hungry captain/knight who acts like that just so we can hate him, and a loud comic relief who isn't funny. Though, the latter we see enough in Western cartoons as well.

Three of these four clichés continue on throughout the rest of the first season, so I hope you like that kind of thing. Can't judge the quality of the later seasons, they did not yet exist when I started watching this show and haven't seen them yet.

In general, the cast was enjoyable. I despised the princess and the pig character, but near the end of the season they had grown on me. Though, that can also be because the creators eventually realized that the other characters were way more interesting to give screen time to; and the princess and pig were usually teamed up and dumped into the background. They proved themselves useful at one point, but it's still a shame they were this unnecessarily irritating most of the time.
The pig's dialogue is screaming, always screaming, and I don't care for cutesy anime girls that cry all the time, so the princess turned me off as well.
I also don't understand why the script writers dumped the giant, Diane, with this princess in so many episodes. She's actually a good character and skilled fighter, but she sat at home often.

When you're first introduced to the cast, you think you're about to get something you've seen in millions of other Japanese fiction, but the majority of them were given an interesting backstory for that extra flavour. Of course, some backstories were still overused, but it succeeded at making me care for them.
The only thing I'd like to mention is that the friendship between two of the fighters, that was described to be a tight and loyal one, actually proved to be disappointingly fragile. It was weird and I didn't like it.
 
The last episode was rushed, but the cliffhanger at the end promised a second season before there ever was one, so it can be excused.
Despite my harshness and complaints, I think this is an adventure you should check out for yourself. You'll learn soon enough whether or not it's for you.

----------------------------
UPDATED ON: AUGUST 18, 2020
I finally watched the other three seasons, so let me give my quick opinion.

The second "season", that consisted out of FOUR whole episodes WOW, was absolutely heinous to sit through. What a waste of time. It calls itself "Signs of Holy War", and it's so pointless, you could and should skip it and go right to season 3, "Revival of the Commandments".

This is where the story begins, and just like season 1, it keeps your attention. Still, throughout the last two seasons it felt like the position of crybaby was now given to Diane -as if the abundance of crotch shots wasn't enough to ridicule her otherwise cool character- and there were so many subplots, there was no time to properly focus on them, they were overdramatic, and sometimes interrupted the more interesting storylines.
The one with Arthur is really boring, and after Meliodas leaves in season 4, you hardly see the guy anymore.

But well, I can't say this didn't hype me up for season 5.
----------------------------

2
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Hmm... i think it only became interesting for me in the second season. The third one was just there to conclude the anime in a proper (?) Manner? I'm not sure what's proper anymore 😂😂😂 but all in all, i think the anime was good because it followed through with the manga a lot. Can't say much about the first season besides the fact that it gave a proper intro to the characters

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If season 1 is just an introduction, I should definitely check out the rest one of these days. I hope there'll be less pig screaming.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nahh the pig still keeps screaming but at least he gets some more worth like getting powers and being the biggest plot twist in that anime. That season 2 was definitely the kind of.. action peak to this? Because season 3 was basically the revalation and conclusion to all that madness

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Darn it, pig, why must you be like that.

The show should still be on Netflix, I'll remind myself to revisit it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You should. Both manga and anime are done so getting a cliffhanger would be unlikely now Weirdly, a lot of people liked that pig

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's always an audience for loud comic relief, that's why they keep getting made.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess so but still hate the fact that it needed an entire season before it got some sense in the anime. Still better than Elizabeth who only became a reasonable character by the 3rd season :<

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hm. Maybe they knew there were going to be more seasons, so took their time developing these characters.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Probably that because of the manga too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I did it, I watched the other seasons.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How was it??

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I updated this article. In short: horrible beginning, too many sideplots interrupting the main one, but it kept me interested and eager for the next season.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seeee. The proceeding seasons were good! I'm glad you enjoyed it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A screaming pig... It sounds as terrible as those little dogs who keep barking for hours. As I stayed with my aunt the truck with pugs arrived early in the morning. The pigs we're thrown over the gate to be weighted...I still hear that sound if I see or read about screaming pigs. I think pigs are cute. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

He doesn't make actual pig sounds, that would've been fine, this one talks and has the voice of a woman who knows no chill.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That sounds awful. How about removing the tongue.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

How about a better voice actor.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I wonder how a pig drawed yelling sounds with a different voice actor. You could give it a try. 😁🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you asking me to animate a scene of a pig yelling and go through the effort of starting an online audition to find a voice actor for this 3 second clip..?

$ 0.00
3 years ago