【WATCH★(•ᴗ•)★THIS】: My Love Story!!

6 27
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Series in one sentence:
A story so sweet, it attracts ants.

Series in more sentences:
A clumsily large, unattractive teenager with a heart of gold finally finds the love of his life, but his inexperience with girls creates many silly situations.
Luckily, they both get help from the deadpan 3rd wheel; his popular best friend and neighbour since childhood.

Series in one selective, crusty image:

Very interesting anime. Some of the humor and pacing reminds me of Western cartoons.
The series has the added charm of offering double dialogue with help of text on screen, which animes often do, but here it's part of the script. The quotes that appear next to the characters' faces can be funny, but they also give the character more personality. Sometimes they go by too fast, but the show wants to be fast paced, so I won't complain about it.

The romance was very innocent. There are no inappropriate scenes, which was refreshing.. Especially since I was watching another anime at the same time that took every opportunity to shove D-cup breasts or lady crotch against the screen.

My Love Story respects its characters and never forgets who they are. A good example of this is the deadpan friend, who was clear at the beginning to not want a girlfriend, and they ended up honouring that after this worrisome turn of events where they introduced this bland, semi-psychotic girl who has a crush on him.
They went on a date together, but there was a plausible conclusion to this two-parter story. The guy does not want her as his girlfriend, he was just being nice, and she accepts that.
But really, that's all they could've done with this randomly inserted character. She wasn't anything different from all other girls who chased this boy, except that she never spoke ill of his tall friend behind his back.
There was no charm to her, and her grey hair just distracting in a world where the rest of its people have realistic hair colours. Why is this teenage girl greying?

I adored the friend. His voice sounds bored, his face looks empty, and he has the tendency to speak his mind; it created hilarious dialogue. He rides on the pretty-anime-boy cliché and turns it around. His loyalty and love for the main character is also endearing.
As for the main character, he was an impossibly sweet boy, though could be a tad annoying/loud at times. At these moments I had to remind myself that he's still something like 14 or 15 years old, so in a way, his behaviour made sense. I was silly and loud at that age.

I liked the first two episodes of the series, where he was still clueless about the crush his now-girlfriend had on him. I was surprised by how quickly the anime had them date, as I thought the show was going to be about these two cluelessly chasing each other.
When looking at how slow their relationship progressed, maybe that would've been a better route. It takes forever for them to kiss, hug, hold hands, the basics of the basics, it's like we're watching two 8-year-olds interact.

Something else about their relationship seemed off to me, and I think it's the fact the boy doesn't talk much to her. His mind won't shut up about her, but he doesn't actually utter the flattering words he thinks about.
In any normal relationship that would just look like a lack of communication, and I'm surprised the girl never commented on his "visible" disinterest for her stories and compliments. The only time he shows loud excitement is for when she feeds him, and that's not much of a relationship, is it.
It's clear the girl means everything to him, but the only ones who can hear his adorable thoughts are him and the viewer.

Anyway, a minor complaint. The way the boy repeats his compliments, intentions, etc. can be tiresome sometimes, but it portrays what kind of person he is. A loving and grateful one. Good anime, nice characters.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Bokumonogatari? I think? Is the jap title? I didn't watch this one 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Almost right, the wrong form of I/me. Google tells me it's "Ore Monogatari!!".

I tend to watch shows on Crunchyroll, they're not always consistent with naming their animes there. Sometimes it's the English title, other times Japanese.

You should watch it, really fun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Close enough, just different use of I 😂😂 well i watched the first episode a while ago while I was on a break from studying. It was way too cute and wholesome The girl is too nice and innocent :")

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed, very unusual for an anime. Having that said, I'm happy it was received well by audiences.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's short enough to finish by tonight at least so I'll be continuing this series after dinner

$ 0.00
3 years ago

By all means, tell me your experiences and how much you dislike the GREY INTRUDER.

$ 0.00
3 years ago