【WATCH★(•ᴗ•)★THIS】: Inu X Boku SS

6 55
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Series in one sentence:
I get a private stalker to drive me to school.

Series in more sentences:
A sassy demon girl from a prestige family moves to a special apartment for highly valued demons and gets assigned a slavish bodyguard she never asked for.

Series in one selective, crusty image:

Soap opera in anime form. But while it feels like cheap fanfiction, it worked for me.

It has a story only an emotional teenage girl with raging hormones could appreciate, yet I loved it enough to buy it on DVD after shamelessly watching it on an illegal phone app. Don't call the police on me, this is long ago, I'm a (mostly) reformed criminal.

It only has a few episodes, and I have yet to figure out my feelings on that. I would've liked more, but I don't think the manga series is something fellow fans would like to see animated in full, as it has no happy ending. (UPDATE: wait, now it kinda does? That's what you get when you review something you've watched years ago.)
The show keeps things cheery and cute, even with the introduction of a man-hating lesbian pedophile, an SM sex addict, and the clear insinuation that the bodyguard was once a soulless male prostitute.. But honestly, this is all standard anime stuff.

The bodyguard character, Sōshi, annoyed me a little in the beginning. His watery eyes and continuous rambling about how he's a dog and not worthy of anything was unnecessary, but I guess it always stopped before it made me uncomfortable. At the end of the series, I understood his behaviour to some degree.
I would've liked for the girl, Ririchiyo, to have been more distant and mean, but the series puts great focus on the relationship with her bodyguard and her inner struggles to socialize, and that's enough. It's these two characters you're the most eager to see on screen.
The English dub was good as well, I liked the voice actors and preferred the English confession scene over the Japanese one. Fight me.
 
Now, I can't say these type of animes are on the same level as Attack on Titan or Elfen Lied, but it did something rare I wished more shows did; which is getting to the point. It never lost its focus or pushed it aside by distracting viewers with an abundance of filler episodes, except for one time. The romance between Ririchiyo and Sōshi was all that mattered.

Yes. The actually really inappropriate romance between a 15 year old girl and a 22 year old man. I don't care that Japan has a lower age of consent, in some places that's 8, and I dearly hope people won't casually cheer on a love story from one of those communities, fictional or otherwise. Inu X Boku truly didn't need this age gap in order for the story to work, so why on Earth..?

Something else that could've been left out was the demon aspect, it was hardly of any importance to the story. Every one of these characters could've been a normal human being, just replace the few episodes that included a demon attack with something else. But maybe the fault of this was the studio's decision to only cover the first chapter of the comic.

So, well, as you can conclude, not a flawless show, but I didn't start off my review claiming it was. This is like a big sugary cake with some unnecessary ingredients sprinkled on, but if you like sugar, eating this thing will leave you with a big satisfied smile.
And hey, if weird stuff like Twilight and Fifty Shades of Grey can find an audience, then this objectively better series can too.

16
$ 5.25
$ 3.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

The main thing I really loved about this anime was the op song :") nirvana by mucc gives me life! Even the end songs were nice. Shookdt I wasn't the only one who found this series okay ^-^ but manga will always be better

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I often prefer the credits over an anime's intro, it's always more original/memorable. I like Sōshi and Karuta's.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh kurata's is the cutest of those credit songs ^-^ yess i agree

$ 0.00
3 years ago

As I see the crying, crawling creature doesn't impress her which is good. I believe he reminds me of someone. I hope my reward will not infect you in a negative way. 👍 <- the only one I can give. 🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

We've all dealt with at least one pathetic arch-backed fool who wouldn't hurry up with the tea. Thank you for the reward, I feel validated, LEWL.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You are welcome. Have fun, drawing on and thanks for the good read.

$ 0.00
3 years ago