【DON 'Tx(•∩•)x WATCH】: Future Diary

6 22
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Series in one sentence:
A whiny kid has a bad case of Stockholm syndrome.

Series in more sentences:
A group of spare-time journal writers (LIKE YOU!) are chosen by God to participate in a killing match. The last one standing will become God of the new world, after the current one dies.

The contestants receive hints on their cellphone based on the type of journal they used to write, but one of them is seemingly unbeatable and very fond of another contestant, who keeps benefiting from her protection.

Series in one selective, crusty image:

It's been forever since I watched this one, so I hope the things I'm going to say will make sense, because I never want to watch this again.

Where to start. I guess the plot is awesome and the execution was decent, but the first thing that bothered me was the main character, Yuki. He's a whiny little boy that's hard to like, let alone love, which is why the obsessive affection from his stalker, Yuno, didn't make sense to me. Their backstory doesn't quite explain why she likes him the way she does, either.

I liked seeing the girl fight, I had high hopes for her, but her protective nature towards Yuki isn't an endearing trait in this particular anime. At some point we reach this uncomfortable chapter where she does some really psychopathic things to her crush, which is why his countless years of mourning over her struck me as odd. Yuki spends a good time being her prisoner, sitting paralyzed and tied up to a chair, so why does he love her at the end of it?

It angers me, because the series wants this; it thinks it's created a good love story, but it's sick and nonsensical.
Don't ask me to cheer for two insanity cases, Future Diary.

5
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @wakeupkitty
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I was in it for the opening song but hey, the storyline was good at least, a bit different too so it was an interesting anime to watch

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A shame that the love story was messed up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

A bit, but then I'm more into the story of yuki and the detective kid 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If it comes to Stockholm syndrome you never know why the victim behaves the way he does. Perhaps he believes the narcissists and does see it as a way to be adored, loved, or...

Hard to say, hard to tell and I start wondering if it's typical for anime to use psychopats, sociopaths, screwed up people and demons. Is it?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pretty much is the standard for animes, yes.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already thought so..

$ 0.00
3 years ago