【DON 'Tx(•∩•)x WATCH】: Danganronpa: The Animation

15 28
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Series in one sentence:
Japan forgets how normal human beings look like.

Series in more sentences:
A boy gets an invitation to an exclusive school, but is then locked inside with a handful of other students. A mysterious demon shaped like a teddy bear shows up to tell them they need to kill another student unnoticed if they want to leave, but also attend a court trial afterwards and point out the murderer. They have to guess correctly, or else consequences.

Series in one selective, crusty image:

It sounds like Saw with a hint of Ace Attorney, but disappoints. It's already hard to take the story seriously with all the ridiculous character designs. It took me a while to figure out the large man in the skirt, who was a girl, and then there's the girl who's a boy, because Japan.

I'm still not sure what the big reveal was exactly, I was too bored to care anymore. Things had turned less serious and thrilling by the time it neared the end.
It had the formula to do something exciting and great, but blew it by inserting all this otherworldly nonsense. Maybe it makes for a fun video game, I haven't played it, but this didn't impress me.

3
$ 0.00
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

The anime definitely was a big letdown. I enjoyed the game though and the fact that the anime stuck with the game animation

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, good to learn I'm not entirely off with this review then.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It's pretty accurate. Got cringey af by the end that it took all my sanity to even bother continuing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It says enough that I don't remember what in the holy cow happened. And I'm not even curious to find out.

I'm surprised this has a sequel series, but who knows, maybe it's better.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I surprisingly still do because i really spent so much time on the game 😂 really love the judgement day voting intro

It had a sequel???? Oh dear, why did they even ;-;

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess because of the game, which people like, not so much because of the anime itself. It's done by the same studio as well, talking about a nail in the coffin.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ohh i didn't notice that. No wonder the animation style looked the same to me. Oof i wonder if my sanity would be willing to see the sequel

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's grass I need to watch grow, but you're a fan of the game, it'd make more sense for you to check it out and give your verdict.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm deciding on that... trying to see if my sanity can keep up with whatever sequel the animators decided to do. Oof-

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy suffering!

$ 0.00
3 years ago