【WATCH★(•ᴗ•)★THIS】: Attack on Titan

6 27
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Series in one sentence:
A boy with no talent or strength is lucky to have a hidden power to save his ass.

Series in more sentences:
In a world where giant, mysterious humanoids roam the earth and eat people, a young boy is determined to join the army and fight against these creatures.

Series in one selective, crusty image:

Regretfully, I've only watched season 1. I know, slow, but the later seasons aren't available to me. Crunchyroll has a pretty strict availability license when it concerns highly sought-after shows.

Anyway, I was never sure what to think of Attack on Titan. Images and references used to pop up on the internet all the time and were hard to miss, but I was never motivated to check it out, since it looked painfully silly to me. But after watching it, the setting made it work.
Still, I'm more amazed that the series' biggest climax, the main character's power, was never spoiled to me. I was surprised to be.. surprised. I expected a generic war cartoon without much else going on.

Even so, the enemy at the end was rather lame. I don't know if I had mentally fallen asleep at some point, but I'm pretty sure this particular character wasn't of any importance before the climax, nor did the main character have any kind of relationship with them; which is why I didn't understand his hesitation to kick their ass.
Speaking of which, a big flaw the main character has is that he always needs to get motivated in order to get up and do something. For a boy who claims to be motivated, and should be, that doesn't make sense.

Other than that, awesomely creepy and interesting series, not much else to complain about. Watch the English version if you can, it's well done.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for ananas
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Definitely a good anime. The rmanga was lit but the rest of the anime episodes weren't justified enough but still waiting for season 4

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The rest of the series isn't any good?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The manga is definitely good- the anime just lost a bit of excitement and twist you got from the first 2 seasons because it slowly became more serious, i guess? But it's still good if you really loved the plot of it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well, the show has always been serious. As long the action's still there, it fulfills its purpose.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I guess so? But then i enjoyed a bit of the lighter side of their furst seasons. Too much seriousness without being able to pull in the audience emotionally gets boring

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Or at the very least doesn't make the characters likeable.

$ 0.00
3 years ago