Melissa Luu-Van is a Product Manager at Facebook.

1 22
Avatar for ama500
Written by
3 years ago

Since last November, millions of people have visited Facebook Privacy Basics, a dedicated resource that gives people a simpler way to find and use our privacy controls. After seeing how interested people are in material like this, we discovered that they also had questions about our security tools.


Today we've expanded Privacy Basics to include 11 new visual and interactive guides. They focus on the tools we make available to help you secure your account, the steps we take to keep your information secure, and the ways you can recognize and avoid attempts to compromise your information. The content is available in 40 languages and ready to be accessed wherever you are—on your phone, desktop, or tablet.

This new security collection, “How to Keep Your Account Secure,” covers specific topics like how to create a better password, what to do if you see a suspicious post or message, what to do if your account has been taken over by someone else, how to recognize attempts to steal your passwords and info, how Facebook protects your information, and how we handle information requests from governments. Online threats are a growing concern for people, and our hope is that this helps people better understand how to stay safe and secure on Facebook. 

Check out the new security content for Privacy Basics.

April 3, 2015 at 9:20 PM · Public

Like Page · Save · More

LikeReactCommentShare

2K

Write a comment...

 · 

Susan McKinnon

Why do I have two accounts a

Like · React · Reply · Report · Oct 20 at 6:47 AM

Parveen Chaudhary

My I'd hake

Like · React · Reply · Report · Apr 7

Zidi Foji

My account has disable and how to open it?
Please help me

Like · React · Reply · Report · Jul 2

1 reply

Chandra Adhikari

Hello I'm chandra adhikari I'm from in Nepal Internet Google Facebook contact has low checked the world global company !

Like · React · Reply · Report · Oct 12

Beverly J Morris

I noticed people names on my messenger I don't know and recently I was unable to reach a friend on Facebook that said they had to send a security picture that's why he was not on Facebook but when I checked it said their page had been deactivated or I was blocked I need to know if this was a scammer his name David Cohen Raymond the message he was sent through Facebook was thank you David sent a picture photo I need to know if he deactivate his page or block me

Like · React · Reply · Report · Sep 17, 2018

1 reply

Melanie Brazaitas

Can u please Penalize or fine or get Law Enforcements help to Charge these Quiz and App attach??? Folks for compromising Security???
I have reported it not too mention disturbing images i felt extremely inaproppriate wuth children etc in past.
Not sure who you "man" that position with...but they need some Better Back up checkers and fast!!!
Thanks a Million
On behalf of Crime Victims...
Parents, Legal Advisors,And Protectors.
GODspeed,and many thanks in Advance

Like · React · Reply · Report · Mar 7, 2016

Charlie Fuller

how do you stop this coming up everyone I watch a video

Like · React · Reply · Report · Sep 22, 2017

Gail Schmidt replied · 1 reply

Darcy Weseman

I have been trying to block a person and I keep getting an error. This person had harassed me in the past and I blocked their old profile. They created a new one and now I cannot block them. This seems like a major safety issue. Is there any fix for this issue? I have reported it to Facebook and received no response.

Like · React · Reply · Report · Dec 29, 2015

1 reply

Rory Janiak

Dear Facebook
Re: My identity has been stolen
A “good Samaritan” noticed something fishy and searched me to highlight a Justin Damon using a lot of photographs of me pretending it is him. He has stolen photos from my wedding day and is calling it a photo shoot, and referring to my wife as just a model for the shoot. He has taken a photo from our honeymoon and again says that he (me) doesn’t know the girl (my wife) and it’s a shoot for an adult novel. Stupidly he has couple pics of my wife and I also – which shoes flaws in his act. He has even gone and blocked me so I had to search him through a friends profile. ALSO his friend Angela Matthews has totally stolen an ex of mines identity by using photos of her (with and without me) – and they (Justin and angela) speak to each other on their walls pretending that they are us! She has also blocked me. So they are devious together! Now I don’t care about my ex – but I do care about my wife and I. He has also used photos of my brother, dad, close friends – even our dog!
Please help stop these sick people from invading our privacy. I have re checked all my albums to make sure they are private. Obviously my profile pic and cover photo will be able to be taken – is there any way to block it? Ie profile pic and cover pic only available to friends contacts?
These are the 2 fake accounts:
https://www.facebook.com/justin.damon.33

https://www.facebook.com/angela.mathews.9250

1 · Like · React · Reply · Report · Mar 27, 2016

Shanda Edwards

Does anyone know how to turn whatever this is off? I don't want people, let alone people that I don't know being able to see all of this.

2
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for ama500
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Great one

$ 0.00
3 years ago