Homeless For A Week

10 31
Avatar for alykavinsky
1 year ago

We’ll never know how privileged we are, unless we experienced the worse in our life. And I’m glad I did. I became like homeless for a week.

As the joke that I’ve shared with my girlfriend; “Ang hirap pala maging haligi ng tahanan, gusto ko na lang maging hakdok ng tahanan ulit.” Hahaha and to be honest, jokes are indeed half-meant. I really am tired with my experience in here.

Currently, I’m here at Batangas Medical Center. My eldest sister just got her CS, and unfortunately, her husband is working overseas, so there is no other option for me but to be with my sister’s side all through this journey. It’s my first time to experience such things like this, and everything is new to me of course, and I can say, I’ll never be having a baby of my own, because responsibilities are killing me, it will be the end of me for sure.

Title: Homeless For A Week
Published Date: August 31, 2022
Author: alykavinsky 

It’s really hard in here. It’s my 5th day at this hospital, and on my first, my anxiety and depression overpowered me. I was darn scared. I haven’t even had enough of sleep that time. I think, I can never do things on my own, but then as days passes by, I realized that I have no one here to lean on, so I have to be strong for my sister and my new niece. So I’m here right now. Trying to share my experience in here so far.

WAITING AREA SNEAK PEEK

So, every person like me, whose accompanying their patients will going to stay in this waiting area, if you are lucky enough to get some decent spot. Or is this decent enough? Maybe yes, maybe not. Depends on your mindset. Because at least we have a roof to stay for a week or more. It has plenty of long plastic benches that we can sleep to, but most of us sleeps on the floor. Glad I have my carpet with me. We’re hundreds in here. Some people that I have met in here, has been staying here for a month already, and I admire their sacrifices so much, just so they can save a lot of expenses on hospital bills. We know how bad the health care that our government has in store for us, so us, that doesn’t have plenty on our pockets has been struggling in public hospitals like Batangas Medical Center. This made me want to work harder as I can, so that I can give a more better life to my future wife. I don’t want her to experience such terrible financial status like this shit. I want her to have nothing but a brighter future ahead of us.

UNFORTUNATE RUNNER

Unfortunately, the waiting area can’t accommodate every patient’s companion in this hospital, so some are sleeping on the hallway, and worse, some are on the street. That’s why, I’m still grateful that I’ve found a spot inside the waiting area. Thanks to that “nanay” who helps me to found an enough decent place that I can sleep every night. It’s just sad how shitty our government really is, because issues on health services has never been resolved since. It’s heartbreaking to see a lot of people sacrificing their health, just so they can give a little comfortable life for their loved ones, but this isn’t right. Because these people’s health are in line as well. Well, I can do nothing but for all of us to be safe and to stay healthy in here, so that we can still support our patients that’s confined in this hospital.

__________________________

There are a lot of homeless experienced I have in here, like:

  • Paying just to take a bath, to pee, poop and to stay hygienic.

  • Some are getting in line just to have their food to eat. Which I don’t do, because I hate falling in long line.

  • We are all waiting a spot on our charging station, just so we can make our phone battery full enough.

  • Never ending falling in line for our patients documents, so we can save a lot of money.

There are still a lot of homeless experience of mine in here, that I can’t share anymore, because its making me stressed out. So I think, this will be enough for now.

Take care y’all! Adiós!

3
$ 0.09
$ 0.08 from @KirstenCassandra
$ 0.01 from @Winx1988
Sponsors of alykavinsky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for alykavinsky
1 year ago

Comments

I swear that waiting area is decent enough, I experienced sleeping outside the hospital during cold nights it's February the coldest month in the Philippines plus I have allergy to cold 🥶 hays I don't like that experience and worst is that I lost my dad time. But yeah anyway, congratsss to your sister

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sad to hear that. But I’m glad you made it through. Thank you anyway 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ang hirap naman pala diyan, ayon nga ano, napaka importanteng bagay talaga ang health services pero di man Lang natutugunan, nasan na kaya ang mga pangako nil, hay naku, ang hirap umasa sa gobyerno, Kaya magsumikap na Lang talaga tayo. Sana maging maayos si sister mo at healthy din ang baby.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yun nga po. Wala ng pagasa talaga sa gobyerno. Nasa sarili pa din ang pag unlad. Tiis tiis lang muna for now. Hehe thank you po

$ 0.00
1 year ago

But I still admire your bravery, bub. You've been there for five days. If I am in your situation, I'll be dead for sure. I couldn't stand that many people in five minutes. 😭 I'm so proud of you bub, you'll be home soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you bub. I hope so too 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hey, everything's gonna be alright. Sending a lotta hugs! 💛

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For sure bub. Thank you 🥺

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Always here for you! 💛

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I know bubba! I’m grateful

$ 0.00
1 year ago