Differences between Coriander and Parsley 🌿

22 77
Avatar for aleja
Written by
3 years ago

Days ago I was commenting on a recipe from my amiga @esciisc and I recommended her to use Coriander (Cilantro) to give a touch of color and flavor to her dish, she replied that she did not know it was coriander. That gave me an idea to tell you about this versatile herb, I will also talk about Parsley (Perejil).

These two herbs are widely used in Latin American cuisine, besides they are very similar and we tend to confuse them at first glance, but each one is used for specific dishes and recipes. So I'm going to give you some tips on how to differentiate and use them.

Coriander (Coriandrum sativum) is an annual herb of the apiaceae family, formerly called umbelliferous. It is one of two accepted species of the genus Coriandrum, which is the only member of the Coriandreae tribe. Its origins seem uncertain, but it is generally considered native to North Africa and southern Europe. In Latin America it is popularly called cilantro,Β coriandro,Β culantro europeo,Β perejil chino,Β danniaΒ oΒ culantro (the latter name in Peru, Ecuador, Honduras, Guatemala, Costa Rica and other American countries).

natureword.com

Parsley (Petroselinum crispum) is a herbaceous plant of the Apiaceae family native to the central zone of the Mediterranean region and introduced and naturalized in the rest of Europe and widely distributed throughout the world. It is generally grown as a condiment. It is also called in other countries Apio, apio de piedras, ligustico do reino, ligustico peregrino, peregil, perejil, perexil, petroselino, prejil, prexil.

herbazest.com

Coriander is a natural flavoring and detoxifier, relieves menstrual pain, and evens out platelet values, reducing anemia. While Parsley is characterized by its diuretic, digestive, remineralizing properties and its ability to promote the health of the circulatory system.

The coriander leaves are more rounded and its green color is lighter than the color of parsley, it has a strong and citrus flavor. The parsley leaves are pointed and have a more triangular shape, its green color is brighter and a little darker, it has a very mild flavor, that is why it is generally used as a garnish.

differencebetween.com

The use of parsley and coriander is generally culinary, both for sauces and for seasoning, but they can also be medicinal plants thanks to their various properties.

The medicinal properties of Cilantro are: It increases good cholesterol and reduces bad, it is anti-inflammatory, helps fight anemia, reduces fat in the walls of veins and arteries, relieves symptoms of hemorrhoids, improves the immune system, etc.

The medicinal properties of Parsley are: It is an antioxidant, It is a natural diuretic, It has anti-cancer properties, helps digestion, purifies the blood, etc.

The coriander leaf is commonly eaten in salads, soups, meats and consommΓ©s. In addition, coriander is considered to have antibacterial and antimicrobial properties, it is rich in magnesium, iron and fiber. While parsley is used to eat in salads, soups and meats. And its roots are not wasted because there are those who use it to prepare stews. In addition, parsley is a container for high levels of folic acid and has vitamins A, C and K.

pinterest.com

I hope this article is useful, especially to my querida amiga @esciisc, and they are encouraged to try some of these excellent herbs in their cooking recipes.

Comment... Vote... Subscribe.

P.S.: The lead image was taken from the website foodiosity.com

19
$ 3.54
$ 3.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @esciisc
$ 0.05 from @tired_momma
Sponsors of aleja
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aleja
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I have never learned to differentiate them, as much as I try whenever I go to the supermarket I have to be asking for help. I will try to follow the recommendations, and those tips.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I hope it helps you, the truth is not so difficult to differentiate them ... Thanks for commenting.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aha! They look just the same lol. I love my parsley and haven't tried using coriander. The smell puts me off. But maybe I'll have a go again. Think it's nice in chicken curry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

At home we use more coriander than parsley, this gives more flavor to meals πŸ˜‹

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I always thought they were the same but with just different names XD

$ 0.00
3 years ago

New things are learned every day, now you know they are different herbs πŸ€“

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought they are the same 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Now you know that they are not hehehe πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah thanks to you.. They look the same though πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you so much amiga for taking the time to write this article about the thing that confuses me hehe. I really like how you differentiated the two. I was confused because they seem to look the same but with a closer look, their leaves are actually different. I think the one that we have in the front yard is not cilantro, looking at the leaves. I further made a research and what we have in the yard is actually a mugwort haha But I'll go to the supermarket and see if I can find a cilantro or parsley πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am flattered that you liked it, I have been working on this article a lot to be able to present something very simple and useful for you and all those who read on the platform. Although I am a little sad because I was encouraged to publish it also in Spanish and they rejected it πŸ˜”πŸ₯ΊπŸ˜’.

Parsley is also excellent for cooking, so the next time you make your recipes, encourage to use them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Of course I appreciate all the efforts you exerted just to present the article clearly and very easy to comprehend.

It was probably rejected because a lot of users are publishing articles lately translating other articles in a different language to confuse the bot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, I understand, but it is still sad for me πŸ˜•... No way, I'll move on.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Aaaaw. Sorry to hear about that amiga 😞

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I like parsley, and I actually don't know the difference between the two. They look the ame to me, parsley isbthe most used spices when it comes to cooking, I often see it in facebook, many chef are using that. Thanks for englightning us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for your comment, may the post be useful for you.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Off course this is very useful to me, I gain a bit of knowledge here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is so nice, writing an article for your friend 😍 And this article is very informative too, I also don't know the difference bwtween the two.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for commenting, I hope the information is useful for you and you learn to differentiate these herbs as well.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't think I could differentiate them in real because it looks the same to me.

You're welcome.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

If you pay attention to the leaves you will see that they are not the same.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah yes, it indeed is.

$ 0.00
3 years ago