OneTab & Ktab: Bookmarking Sites While Saving Memory Space

0 135
Avatar for ahmadmanga
3 years ago

OneTab is a Chrome extension I've been using for around 2 years now. The extension closes all the open tabs & puts all the links into One (easy-to-reach) Tab.

OneTab is mainly used to free RAM space while browsing websites. The extension is mainly used by internet surfers who constantly open new tabs to read later. The ones who can't stand still like me~

OneTab claims to save up of %95 of memory. For someone who always have at least 10 Tabs open at once, it does help.

After using the extension for 2 years, I found that I was using it as a bookmarking tool more than I use it for it's actual use-case. It does help me reduce the amount of open tabs, but even with OneTab at my disposal, I usually leave 8-10 Tabs open.

OneTab replaced my Bookmarks section of the browser. Every link that I think I might return to stays there. I clean the ones I stop needing every now and then, but I still have 790 links accumulated through-out the years.

Yup, that's a rare screenshot inside of @ahmadmanga's mind~

It worked fine for me, but the problem comes when I need one of the older links: I have to scroll down for several seconds! Use the search shortcut: Ctrl+F! Force myself to remember a keyword from the link's title, and hope the keyword is unique enough. Such a hassle~

I needed a more robust Bookmarking Tool. I needed one that works like OneTab, but give me more control in filtering the links.


I never knew such extension existed!


ktab Browser Extension

A few days ago, while I was looking up productivity tools, I stumbled on Ktab. It's mainly a Bookmarking tool, but features everything OneTab is known for. You can use KTab for any OneTab use-case, though OneTab might be the better extension if all you need is to save memory space in short-term.

Ktab goes a step further by including a filtering system. You can filter by Site, by Tag & Date. There doesn't seem to be a limit on how many tags you can use for each site.

At the time of writing, there doesn't seem to have a Search Feature, so I still need to use the Ctrl+F method.

Ktab supports showing websites of multiple tags at once, but not multi-tag filtering that could be used for more specific searches. If it had these feature it would've been perfect.

While neither OneTab nor Ktab offer multi-device syncing. OneTab has Import/Export function while Ktab doesn't have one at the time of this writing. That might be a deal breaker for some.

What Do You Think?

What applications/extensions do you use for productivity? Do you use the Bookmarking tool that comes with your browser? Put your thoughts in the comments section!

4
$ 0.79
$ 0.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ahmadmanga
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ahmadmanga
3 years ago

Comments