[Gaming Experience] Disgaea 5: Laharl's DLC Chapter

0 61
Avatar for ahmadmanga
2 years ago
Topics: Gaming, Disgaea, Tactical RPG, Anime, SRPG, ...

Disgaea D2's character's episode in Disgaea 5. Laharl, Etna, Flonne and Sicily have a moment to shine! My experience playing this DLC on Disgaea 5 Complete.


Disgaea 5's DLC can be played at any point during the story. The difficulty scales with the player. In my case, I attempted this DLC chapter in the 3rd story chapter when the item world got introduced. I wanted to create another team to help finishing quests. Earlier Disgaea characters felt like good material for it.

This DLC chapter starts when Killia stumbles upon another Netherworld. He finds Laharl beating up the locals and thought he was one of the lost, so he challenges him.

I thought the dialogue very interesting. As someone who played Disgaea 1 but not DD2, I can see the development in Laharl's personality. Etna's lines are so funny, and shows her unapologetic-fun-seeker personality really well!

The first battle:

Laharl and Etna where both on Killia's level but I beat Laharl fairly quickly. Etna summoned many Prinnies and I freaked out. Until I realized they're just Prinnies. Over all it was an easy fight~

New enemies come, so Killia deceives Laharl to go fight him in the pocket Netherworld. There Killia refuses to fight as his only purpose was to protect that Netherworld's locals. He even gives the two food. Laharl is disgusted by Killia's kind undemon-like nature so he takes him to his castle to settle the fight!

The second battle:

They find Flonne and Sicily who are trying to hide something. Laharl being the overlord wants to teach his vassals a lesson for hiding things from him. Flonne challenges Laharl to get out of the castle If she wins. In meantime, Sicily goes to do whatever they planned.

The battle wasn't as easy as the first. but I managed to win just fine.

The third battle:

Killia, Etna and Laharl are packaged and sent to the pocket Netherworld. Laharl Angrily goes back to punish Flonne and Sicily. Killia who reasoned that they most have a good reason wanted to stop him, but a fight happens either way.

I was surprised by how strong Flonne & Sicily Duo is... Also, Flonne transforms in the first turn! Who knew that Flonne had an Idol Persona? And why does "Pure Flonne" make so much sense?!

This was the hardest battle I fought in Disgaea 5 yet! (In this playthrough at least.)

I got ​annihilated in my first attempt. I tried to form a strategy to win against Flonne in the second. She's weaker if you killed the monster she Magichanges with before she does so. I did that and I was defeated. I was a one hit away from winning too! I tried the same strategy a second time and won... I have a renewed respect for Flonne after the fight.

Happy Birthday, Laharl

After the battle, Flonne and Sicily admit they were preparing a surprise party for Laharl. Etna was in this too and that's why she didn't want Laharl to go back to the castle earlier. (Etna still helped punishing the two angels. What a wildcard.)

It's Laharl's Birthday! Demons from Laharl's world don't celebrate birthdays so it was a great surprise for him. (He won't admit he liked it.) After the party, Laharl made Killia his vassal, so he can fight him at any time!

Even the game "system" won't admit that Laharl joined Killia's party.

Random Thoughts:

You know that the first game's trio is the best when an article written about their cameo in another entry.

  • I love how I can't take any of the Flonne's "love" speeches romantically no matter which games she is in.

  • I'm bummed that the DLC scenes aren't voiced. I'm not sure if they're meant to be that way or if they just didn't get a hold of the guy voice actors... Some of the scenes would've been funny with voices too. #UnnecessaryComplain

  • It seems Laharl cameos in other Disgaea entries usually depend on misunderstandings to happen. He loves getting more screen-time so I don't think he minds.

  • I noticed that Killia is the only Disgaea 5 character to appear in this chapter. I Know why they're doing that, but it's a shame. Seraphina at least would've added a nice joke or two if she's been there.

  • I don't know the role Sicily plays in Disgaea world, as I didn't play the PS3 exclusive: Disgaea D2. (Yet.) That means I also miss some other stuff about the trio.

So, that's my experience with this part of Disgaea 5 Complete. I thought it was fun to write. If you liked this article format please tell me so in comments so I could write more. I'm always open to feedback.


  • All the images used in this article are screenshots from Disgaea 5 Complete (Switch Ver.) taken by me.

  • This article is cross-posted here on Read.cash and Hive's Ecency. Different screenshots supplied with each version.

5
$ 11.39
$ 11.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of ahmadmanga
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ahmadmanga
2 years ago
Topics: Gaming, Disgaea, Tactical RPG, Anime, SRPG, ...

Comments