Let's keep it interesting

0 8
Avatar for acat
Written by
3 years ago

For the past few months, people all over the world have taken a COVID-19 imposed break from almost everything that involved contact with others. This hasn't been an easy time. Before this strange era of contact avoidance, I used to go out three or four times a week--I loved going to open-mic poetry, comedy and music. I liked it even though the performers weren't great. Why? Because going out provided novelty, amusement, camaraderie, excitement, and variety.

For a while, it has felt like all of that happened in another lifetime. I miss it.

Absent all of that, I've tried to adapt. I'm watching more movies and listening to more podcasts. One of the good ones is 99% Invisible. Last week, episode 401 focused on research that intersects with the conditions imposed on the world to stop the spread of the virus, particularly research on whales, air quality and boredom. It turns out, many people would rather feel pain than feel nothing.

You can listen to it here: https://99percentinvisible.org/episode/the-natural-experiment/

It's thought provoking. Is boredom motivating me? Is it the driver behind any of my self-defeating, pain inducing behaviors?

Next time I find myself doing anything even a little self-destructive, even if it's as banal as allowing a cat to kneed my thigh with her little claws, I'll ask myself if maybe I'm just feeling a little bored. What, I'll ask myself, can we do to keep it interesting?

1
$ 0.00

Comments