Life Guidance Observing From A Window

0 4
Avatar for abdoullahan
2 years ago

Living in today's urban world of cell phones, laptop computers, and other high-tech gadgets is not only stressful, but also impersonal. We earn money and then put that money towards making more money. Is there a conclusion? We are never satisfied, so we don't generally do it. How many times have we convinced ourselves that life would be so much better if only we had more money? But what if, after a significant rise, we find it wasn't enough and that we require more?

So, what are your options?

I've read a lot of life books, including Robin Sharma's Monk Says This and That, and they all seem to argue that money isn't necessary. It is, however. Can you live without a lot of money? I know I won't be able to.

So I went to a local Rabbi and sought for advice on how to identify my true calling in life.

The rabbi gave me a nod and led me to the window. He asked, "What do you see?"

"I can see people walking to and fro, and a blind man is begging for charity at the left corner," I said quickly.

The Rabbi gave me a friendly nod and led me to a large mirror. "Now, take a look around and tell me what you observe."

"I can see myself," said the man.

The Rabbi gave a kind smile. "At this point, you can't see anyone else." The mirror and the window are both made of the same raw material: glass, but one of them has a small layer of silver on it, so all you can see when you look at it is your own reflection."

My shoulders were grabbed by the Rabbi's arm. "Consider yourself in the light of those two shards of glass. You could see the other people without the silver coating and feel compassion for them. When you're covered in silver, you can't see anything but yourself."

I locked my gaze on the Rabbi. "I'm not sure what you're talking about."

The Rabbi went on. "Only if you have the bravery to remove the silver covering over your eyes and see and love others again will you become someone." He patted me on the back and waved me off.

I've considered what he said and have come to the conclusion that he was correct. Yes. We require money and should not strive to live a life without it; it is futile and will only lead to future heartbreak for ourselves and our families.

Instead, I propose that we follow the Rabbi's recommendation. All we can see when we look at life through a silver covering is ourselves. However, if you remove the covering, you will be able to see and feel everyone else.

We are allowed and should be able to look in both types of mirrors in life, but we must remember that a mirror simply reflects us; a window, on the other hand, is the gateway to compassion, health, and true prosperity. To put it another way, seek wealth if you must, but don't allow it keep you from enjoying life, people, children, and the poor and needy.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for abdoullahan
2 years ago

Comments