Book Turned Into Movie and Completely Desecrated

0 15
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

Maybe completely desecrated is not the proper term to coin it but I did appreciate the book better than the actual movies in the Percy Jackson and the Olympian series. I mean, it has a lot of potential to be as huge as the Harry Potter franchise story-wise. Uncle Rick's writing is something that is so engrossing, inclusive, innovative and fun. I cannot help but admire his wit and the way he presents old Greek and Roman mythology and tradition in a fun and modern way. It is presented in an enjoyable and comical  way that even though there is violence (you know how mythology is) and the way demigods are conceived may confuse the hell of the younger readers, the flow of the story is easy to grasp. Moral and relevant lessons include acceptance of one's disability, exposure and acceptance to/for the LGBTQ community, love, trust, friendship, family and faith. The Trials of Apollo spin-off is also a hell of a fun ride (I am currently reading the last book of the installment and I am loving every bit of it.)

But what exactly went wrong?

Timing, perhaps?

The world is not ready for another fantasy-driven series (and because Harry Potter is so huge that the general public tend to compare the two.).

They are not ready for another teen hero. Most of my bookworm friends loved both HP and PJO series, though and that is all I need to know.

I love Logan Lerman and the other artists and to be honest I think they were perfect for their roles (Alexandra Daddario did kick arse!). Whether it is the promotion, the production team itself, or maybe the way they have presented the plot that it felt lacking to some? I don't really know. I enjoyed it back then (I remember rocking hard to Fall Out Boy's My Songs Know What You Did In The Dark when it has played during the film, I wasn't aware that it was a part of the official soundtrack) and if they are to reboot it, I am down for it, too. I look forward for the series to redeem itself. 

Maybe the world is ready now.

The live-action series was confirmed by author Rick Riordan back in the spring of 2020.

According to Rick Riordan, a draft for the pilot episode of the Percy Jackson series has been completed and the reception has been positive. The episode will however go through some “tweaks” before it’s to be sent off for a go signal.

Last January 24, he posted an update on his blog and it goes:

“We have a couple of important meetings this coming week with the top brass at the studio for the Percy Jackson TV show, so keep your fingers crossed. Everyone who has read the pilot script loves it, but there will be a few additional tweaks we need to make before we send it off to its next stop: the top execs at Disney+. That’s normal.

In script writing, as in every other kind of writing, you can expect to do many, many drafts! All the input has been super positive and helpful, though. Everyone is committed to making this the best show we possibly can. I remain excited and guardedly optimistic that we are on the verge of getting a really first-rate project off the ground. As always, though, good things require time and patience! Stay tuned!”

From the February 20th update:

“For PJO TV, we’re just waiting to hear back from the top execs. The script has made it to the uppermost tier of decision-makers, which is great, but now we need to wait to hear what decision they make. When I do know anything else, I will of course post it here. Hopefully Caesar’s thumb will point in the right direction.”

And, the March update:

“The latest: We do not yet have an official “green light,” but things are moving along nicely in my estimation.

The pilot script has now made it through the very highest levels of Disney execs and everybody likes it. We have met with the studio heads and streaming service execs, and we feel a lot of love and support from Disney, which I really appreciate!

Our core production team (me, Becky, our show-runners and our fellow producers) have spent the last year learning to work together efficiently and effectively (through Zoom, of course). I’m delighted to say that our thinking is aligned in terms of what we want this show to be, and I remain confident we will make something great for you all to watch.

Again . . . it just takes time. A lot of time. Imagine how complicated you think making a TV show would be. Multiply that times one hundred. It is even more complicated than that. And our process, from what I’ve been told, has been relatively easy! It’s fascinating though, and I’m learning a ton.

Right now, we are starting to plan next steps so we can give our partners at the studio and streaming service a good comprehensive picture of what this show will require. What’s the first season look like? (Hint: It will follow the plot of The Lightning Thief). What will the budget look like? (Hint: Good TV ain’t cheap. Quality-wise, this has to stand toe-to-toe with Disney+ hits like Wandavision and Mandalorian.) Who do we have in mind for directors? (Hint: I can’t give you any hints, but we are having conversations about this.) Casting? (No, we are still not there yet, but we have begun to talk about how the process will work when we do get there.) 

At a guess, I would say we have a couple more months of these conversations and planning meetings before we get our finalized game plan and (hopefully) get approval to move forward. I am optimistic it will happen. There is a lot of excitement and momentum, and it really helps that Disney understands just how wonderful and massive a fanbase Percy Jackson has, so thank you all for that! I will, as always, keep you posted, but if you see other information or “inside scoops” floating around social media, remember it is just clickbait. What I’ve told you above is as much as anyone knows, including me.

Oh gosh. It’s still a long way to go. But one thing’s for sure, it will definitely be worth the wait!

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of aaskelter
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for aaskelter
3 years ago

Comments