Love at the time of Pandemic

0 23
Avatar for Zilong
Written by
3 years ago

Hello! This is Lyndon again. The one who sent "the Missing Jeepney Passenger". It makes me feel good that you liked that story. Now I have a new story to tell. I am based in Ontario, Canada now, working as a health office assistant in a hospital. I started working here in January 2020.

I became friends with a Canadian nurse here. His name was Scottie. Scottie is a handsome man and I can't help myself to like him(Yes, I am a Gay). I thought at first that he was stuck. When I was only new to the hospital, we don't talk that much with each other because our work was not related. We became close when the time came and I had enough courage to add him on Instagram. At first, I thought that he would reject me but I was happy that he accepted my request. Since then, we have been talking through chat on Instagram, at that time I felt excited. Days have passed and we became close to each other. He invited me to his apartment for a drink and a chat or to watch Netflix. His favorite movie is Love, actually, I was a bit surprised because a romantic comedy is my favorite movie. He also once invited me to the park for ice skating. He taught me to ice skate. I was thrilled because he held my hand when he taught me. At the moment that we were ice skating, he watched me when I almost fell to the ground when I was ice skating. I admitted to him that I was gay. But even so, he did not go away from me. He thinks of me as his close friend. The time came where he had less time together because he offers his time to his girlfriend. Although we had less time for each other we are still friends.

One day, I thought I would admit that I like him. I don't care anymore even if he stays away from me. I thought of talking to him at the hospital if I meet him to say what I really feel at those times that we are together until now. I was temporarily laid off from my work at the hospital because the management decided that only essential workers would be admitted first, those are nurses like Scottie.

Scottie and I never saw each other again during the pandemic. He also avoids meeting other people. After all, he is at high risk of having a Corona Virus because he handles COVID patients. So even though I miss him, we can't meet. He also doesn't chat often because he is busy with work and tried after his shift.

One day, he suddenly chatted me through Instagram saying:

"Lyndon, I was tested positive on carrying the Corona Virus. It's killing me, man."

He was allegedly confined to the COVID facility of our hospital. I would like to visit him but the hospital only allows the family members of the patient.

After a few days, I heard bad news from a nurse. Scottie died of Corona Virus.

I cried a lot when I heard that. He disappeared when I did not confess to what I truly feel about him. I used to cry every night. It just hurts so much even though we are not a couple. Scottie is an important person to me, the heavy feeling I feel is because of something that I wasn't able to say to him when he is still alive. Even if I shout or use the loudest speaker from the entire world he can no longer hear me.

I always pray that Scottie would appear even if it is in the form of a ghost so that I could tell him those feelings I never get the chance to tell him. I wish I had a third eye so that I could see him. That's all I want and wish for. Times passed by and still, no trace of his presence, no signs of him being here.

Until one night.

I woke up because someone seemed to be whispering my name. I did not see anyone in my room when I opened my eyes. Then suddenly, someone whispered my name again near my ear. I just can't deny it. I really believe that it was Scottie's voice.

After that, it was as if someone was beside me that I could not see and I feel a cold air covering my whole body that feels like someone hugs me but I couldn't see. Then suddenly I heard a sweet voice saying:

"I am always here, Lyndon. "

4
$ 0.50
$ 0.50 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Zilong
Written by
3 years ago

Comments