Near that avenue

8 81
Avatar for ZeusOnPills
4 years ago
Topics: Fiction

I was running, almost flying, in the night, through some alleys near a big avenue. I could see small shops in the alleys, street food canteens, and an empty super-market that still had its lights on.


I got out of a building to the big avenue outside it which had a 6th lane that I did not remember existing but the lane was leading to a dead-end. I waited on that lane, trying to think how to make a driver stop to pick me up. I thought that just waving my hands would not work, so I contemplated just dropping my pants and showing them my butt. I assumed that the sight would shock them enough to step on the brakes. But in the end an ex-colleague picked me up with his car before I put my plan into action.


You see, I was invited to visit a former employer to speak with my manager from back when I worked there but, after waking up at 6am to go there, he was not there. I saw another ex-colleague who was asking me about some code and whether I can receive emails. I saw many new faces, who seemed to recognize me, which made me doubt whether they were actually new or whether I was forgetting who they were.

Later, during night-time, I was walking in a big avenue outside the premises of the company, searching for a card. I bought a Vodafone top up card but I had never seen a card that looked like this one. It was actually composed of two cards: The first one looked like a fake/sample/demonstration card and the second one looked like a thin transparent nylon card that when put on top of the first one would make the real top-up code show up.

Later, I left that place along with my girl. I made huge jump while holding hands with her. The jump was called "Jaguar" but I shouldn't have and didn't say the name to anyone back then (It was named after the brand of the boots that I was wearing). I had two cellphones with me and, during the jump, I was trying to pull my emails on them from the mail server. Afterwards we landed on the pavement, near the entrance to some tunnels.


Later we were exploring those underground tunnels in order to mine and collect a material. We had a machine working in front of us that was grinding down the material so that we could collect it.

We found some glass rods, each surrounded by metallic screw-like threads, and we proceeded to break them apart and to collect them. I was worried that I may cut myself on the really sharp edges. Because of the rods the tunnel was becoming very cramped and tight and we could see that it was ending a bit further ahead. "Anyway, let's just go till the end", I said, "since we're that close to it, we can take a look at what it is".

When we arrived at the end, my girl asked me if she should get down there. I looked to see what she meant and saw a tiny hole, filled with water that would barely fit her head but she somehow fitted through it legs-first. I knew (or rather hoped) that she would simply escape from this world if she were to drown in there, but I got really worried because she would have to go through the experience of drowning. I watched her as she dove deep enough to disappear but the next moment she started swimming really quickly back up. She got her head out of the tiny hole and took a huge breath of air and at the exact same moment, an extremely load alarm sounded from outside this world, like a horrible human scream in the tunnel and sent my heart racing.

13
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ZeusOnPills
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZeusOnPills
4 years ago
Topics: Fiction

Comments

I read your article. So nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is an awesome article, which I love

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for share this Beautyfull article with us

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Tasted the sweet perfume on the mountain grass I rolled down. really your descriptive style is amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm glad if you like it but are you sure you commented on the correct post? Because I never wrote anything about a tasting the perfume of grass as far as I know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Brilliant writing skills

$ 0.00
3 years ago