Pictures of this city

4 27
Avatar for ZethTech
2 years ago

This is a small collection of pictures of the place that I'm living in right now. The city is Medellin, in Colombia (LatAm) and these pictures were taken in a long timeline, because everytime I go out take my cameras to make some shots when I see interesting things. There's a lot of places in this city with amazing stories and a lot to give, so it is a touristic place of course. If you come with a guide they'll take you in a previously prepared route, but I think that if you rather look for adventure and know way more places, people, food and the beauty of the city you'll have to make your own investigation and just take a cab to interesting places.

One way clean street.

The city has it all and you can find lower prices also if you take the tour by yourself. As any place in the world it sure have problems, you just have to be secure of yourself and be careful if you want to visit the outskirts that are famous for their history of violence, if you want to visit those places you better go with a guide and everything will be ok.

That small mountain far inside the fog, is Morro de Moravia and you can visit to hang out in nature and take a good look of the north of the city.

City Center.

The center of the city is for me the most dangerous place of the city, but despite everything, the tourists are protected by both police and merchants but if the center is what you want to visit, I also recomend to go with the guides, they know the place and also where not to go. Of course there's a lot to watch and know in there, but the everyday life in there is crazy, everything moves fast.

El Poblado is a really cool and tourist place, you can go up and down in here without any problem. There are restaurants, night clubs, hotels, parks, malls and a lot of places to have reunions, business, shopping or just hang out and take a walk. This place has a metro station with the same name, different bus routes and neverending taxi lines. You won't stay without transport even in night time.

30b Street at night!

This next picture is a landscape I really love, it is in the upper zone of El Poblado UVA park. These parks are amazing, there are buildings inside the park with personel that teach courses to kids and adults, from clay modeling, painting, survival, to robotics and audiovisual. It's just amazing and I love them.

Something you gonna see as you get here is that most of the city is brick color and it doesn't matter where you are, the whole city looks that way. Is one of the features that you'll note fast. The thing is I never get tired of going out with my cameras and take pictures of buildings, streets, places and everything.

One of the things I also saw when I got here is that you can hang out with your camera in hand and nothing will happen. I was paranoid at first because in my own country you couln't have your cameras or even your phone out because the probability of be stolen are really high. In here a was free and felt secure, but it took time for me to get used to this.

Some popular slums of Medellin are really nicely done and organized. The social strata system in Colombia determines zones and reflects the income of the people that lives in those zones. You can quickly identify every zone depending on the type of building both for residential and commercial. Of course the lower strata zones aren't organized as this previous picture, those are surely less organized.

I need to admit that I have a fixation of taking pictures on the street with corner support and vanishing point if there's any. Support corner in photography is when you take anything that draw a line and frame it to one of the corners of the picture, following a path from there to the rest of the picture, subjects and landscape.

City center is as crazy as any city center in the world. Lot of commerce, small industries and vendors anywhere and of course traffic jams.

One thing is true, in the city center you can find a lot of things for less money that you could get in the most touristic zones. What I don't like so much about the city center is the food, I think there's not so much healthiness or cleanliness in the places of the cheap and fast food, something that I personaly fear due to the current health issues you could get if there's contamination in one place. After two times getting the virus and really sick and scare, I now have a lot of security measures to select the place where I'm gonna ear.

Medellin local airport.

The airport in medellin is a small one and this picture is one of my favorites. This plane was taking off and I followed it since it was coming far from a hangar to the landing track. I was walking for miles in the city taking pictures and I didn't let this moment go so easy.

I was on a bus going back home and I wanted to make a picture to test if the GoPro could deal with the high bright outside the bus and the low light conditions inside the bus. It nail it, and it was the Hero 4 Silver, so an old one. I didn't wanted for people to see me taking it because you could get sued in here for taking pictures of recognizable people without permission.

One of the main streets in the city center is named Ferrocarril and many transport routes uses this avenue and a lot of long routes also use it. I took this picture from the bus station that I used everyday when I was coming back from work. Again you can see that line in the lower left corner going to the upper left, that's "support in angles" type of photography.

Another day in the same bus station, I took this next picture when the night was coming up to cover us and I couldn't left that degraded blue in the sky alone. This is my last picture for today and I hope that if you are thinking to come to Medellin and see this pictures you decide to make your move. Be sure to take care of yourself and be safe.

All pictures by me! 
Panasonic Lumix FZ-60
Panasonic Lumix FZ-70
GoPro Hero4 Silver
GoPro Hero5 Black

7
$ 0.00
Avatar for ZethTech
2 years ago

Comments

Wow this is beautiful. You must have talent for photography. Well done

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you! You can study and develop your talent, it's all about studying, practicing and studying and practicing again many times.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you a blogger? You've captured some fascinating photos and landscape ❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm a photographer and I try to be a blogger.

$ 0.00
2 years ago