U.S. White House refuses to comment on SBF's political donations

0 32
Avatar for ZeroRequiem
1 year ago

Hey Peeps!

 

Questions are rising about the political donations that FTX Founder Sam Bankman-Fried made during the last few years.

SBF was the second largest individual polotical donor, and he reportedly donated around $5.2 million to Joe Biden's 2020 presidential campaign. 

During a press briefing on December 13th, Associated Press reporter Zeke Miller and White House press secretary Karine Jean-Pierre got into a little exchange.

When asked if United States President Joe Biden will return the $5.2 million in campaign donations made by Sam Bankman-Fried, Karine Jean-Pierre repeatedly declined to answer the questions.

 

Zeke Miller: “Will the president return that donation? Does he call on all politicians who got campaign donations that may have come from customer money to return those funds?

Karine Jean-Pierre: “So, look, I am covered here by the Hatch Act, limited on what I can say, and anything that's connected to political contributions, from here I would have to refer you to the DNC."

ZM: “I mean, I’m asking the president’s opinion though, you know does he...

KJP: “I am covered by the Hatch Act here (referring to the return of SBF's political donations), I am limited on what I can say, and I just can't talk to political contributions or anything related to that. I cannot speak about it from here.

ZM: "his opinion though..."

KJP: “I just cannot speak to this from here. Even his opinion, even his thoughts about the contributions, donations, I cannot speak about that from here.

ZM: "Are you covered by the Hatch Act?" (Humorously)

KJP: "I am covered by the Hatch Act, which I'm happy to say over and over again, because we believe in the rule of law here."

 

Here is the video of the WH Press Brefing, and the exchange between Zeke Miller and Karine Jean-Pierre:

Zero width embed

The Hatch Act is a federal law prohibiting those employees of the executive branch of government from being involved in various forms of political activities.

 

This exchange was also the first question asked during the press briefing, which turned out to the be the most interesting part. 

The White House press secretary sure is not budging on making a comment regarding the political donations from SBF, which may have came from customer funds. 

 

It is a little odd for me that they are unable or unwilling to make a comment on this, as I do not see this as being political; Either you will or will not return a criminal's donation to your political campaign.

 

Should President Biden return the questionable political donations?

If you were a politician and got donations from a scammer or fraudster, like SBF, what would you do?

See ya!

:)

1
$ 0.00
Sponsors of ZeroRequiem
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ZeroRequiem
1 year ago

Comments