stereotype of teenagers

10 93
Avatar for Zeetah
Written by
3 years ago

Now there are way more stereotypes than ever before. White and Black stereotypes, men and women stereotypes, ethnic stereotypes, and adolescent stereotypes. People see one thing done by a particular group and automatically determine that every person relating to that group does the same thing. I am not certain how true that is, particularly being a teenager. There are numerous stereotypes against us. These include that teenagers cause problems are polluting society, drink too much, smoke too much, don't respect people, and we are lazy.

Teenagers all are lazy is the one that gets to me. It is true, nonetheless. Many teenagers are very lazy. I have friends who are nineteen and yet have never worked a day in their life. They are incredibly lazy.

Their parents gave them money, and they kept taking it. I never see them work until they are at least out of college. Even then, they might just even move back in with their parents. That's why stereotype exists. This picture is what everybody recognizes as a typical teen. A kid sitting at home playing video games, and being lazy.

This stereotype does not match me though. I might fit into other ones but not this one. Well, maybe as a kid, but not since becoming a teenager. While growing up I have always been accomplishing something. In middle school, I played sports to pass the time. I played football. Sports usually took up about two and a half hours. That left me enough time to do homework. However, some older people thought that sports where just for leisure and that a kid was lazy if he or she wasn't working no matter what age. So over the summers, I worked as an Electrician assistance. I ran tools and cut wires. It was not much but it was a job and it kept me busy.

Then high school started. This was enough to keep me from being lazy. The sports exercises got longer, and the homework tougher. That left me with less time at night. Then came the age of freedom.

The driving age of sixteen. I instantly got my permit, and with that, I needed a car to go along with it. But they never come free, however. My parents were not buying my sob stories either. So it was time to get a part-time job. I agreed to not go out for trail that year and go job hunting instead. I found a job as a busboy at a local restaurant. I would work there on the weekends and go to school during the week. This kept me very busy. It did let me get a car though. Now I have to pay for car insurance. which meant I had to work even more now. And by the end of high school, I was in my second car and had a lot of extra money. It felt good to work for the things I wanted.

It was time to go to college. I believed I would be able to be lazy. I was wrong, it got worse. Not only did I still have to get work, but I also had to think about studying more, Now it will take all of my time. I moved into a lodging. This was the worst thing I could do. Now had a goto grocery shop, pay due bills, and keep it clean. Now I had no opportunity of been lazy even if I wanted too.

I got up at 5:45 a.m. every day for work. I worked for 4 hours then came home. I would go back to bed for an hour or so. When the alarm goes off for the second time that day it was time to get ready for school. I preceded to school. After a day at school, I would then go to practice. Here I would spend two grueling hours in the gym. I would push myself home and have a little time to study then relax. The relaxing time was my only free time of the day. It might be short but it's very relaxing. Maybe that could be deemed lazy but I doubt it, not after a day like that. I guess it would depend on who is judging.

I wonder what sort of people say that all teenagers are lazy? I bet they say these things based on a teenager they know, they might be closer to that kid then just knowing them. They are the ones parenting those kids and perhaps the ones spoiling them too. Or maybe it is just that they were that lazy kid while growing up too?

15
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @Auwalkabir
$ 0.01 from @bheng620
Avatar for Zeetah
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Amazing

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Honestly, we are not as lazy as many may think. I am a teenager, and I knew many who had jobs of some sort in addition to being full-time students, caring for ill family members, or keeping other committment

$ 0.00
3 years ago

wondering what sort of people say that all teenagers are lazy,yes some youth are lazy just because they a reliable, being this give them hope of getting what they don't work for, that a very interesting topic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The widespread reason why our generation is lazy is that some of the teens were not instilled with proper work ethics and values when they children. Our generation is when this problem started, and it has now grown out of control

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Considerable article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only hope

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not all teens are lazy, and those that are lazy, I believe is because they do not have priorities

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That could be a reason too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Many people believe teenagers are lazy because unlike adults, teens don't do much. teenagers tend to sleep more than adults do, and have less energy for day to day tasks, and get bored with menial tasks much faster.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agreed. But should that justify their actions?

$ 0.00
3 years ago