My experience with God in a Sacred Place

0 11
Avatar for Yukiro_maze
2 years ago

Every sacred place is where God resides. Sacred places are usually expected to be silent, peaceful and calm for it shows respect to God who resides in there. When you are in a sacred place, you will feel the holistic and genuine presence of God. You will feel His grace touching and comforting you. In Him you will find enormous joy and contentment. That’s what everyone says. But unfortunately for me, it’s different. I don’t really go to church and I don’t pray. But when I was little I used to go to church a lot and serve there because that’s what my family used to do. At the same time, I began to question whether the God I had believed in for so long was actually real; and this frightened me.

When I got older, I realized that I was just forcing myself to believe in God. I thought believing in him and having to do good deeds will prevent me from unfortunate events in my life. I was wrong, I realized that it don’t make any sense. It’s not his responsibility to guide us and prevent us from evil, but rather we are the ones who are in control of our life. We decide what actions we can do in order for us to be a good person. The underlying issues that make us want to bow down to a God that someone else invented don't just go away simply because you recognize that man-made God in our own image, rather than the other way around. I still have a fairly deep sense of powerlessness, unworthiness, not being good enough and shame about who I am and what I want from life.

I now believe that human nature is not as fundamentally flawed as Christianity suggests. We are not going to hell if we don't repent, and never were. Believers are not going to heaven either. Jesus didn't die for our sins, and we don't need salvation. That anxious feeling of abandonment that we all get at times, which Christians relieve by believing in a loving personal God, can be relieved more fully by healing the emotional wounds which cause the anxious feeling in the first place.

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Yukiro_maze
2 years ago

Comments