The moment of coming out as an LGBTQ is unforgettable

0 23
Avatar for YolandaSchultz
2 years ago
Topics: Lgbtq, Pride, Love

Appearing as LGBTQ wasn't just for a moment, but after the Orlando massacre inspired many to come out as gay.

But coming out isn't usually a single statement - an Ellen DeGeneres moment or a "Glee" moment. Instead, it's a sequence of moments.

Several Tumblr users explained what it meant to them - when they did, what it looked like and what it looked like. Several people talked about the first conversation; some momentary controversy; others describe an ongoing process. One caller, Gary Gates, summed it up pretty succinctly: "I've never dated and I'm still dating."

Lewis Morris

I told my parents about three years ago that I was a man. Being a woman to a man, on a transitional path. I think they're confused, and then I think - I think "they'll probably figure it out", or like asking me about it, or really confusing but then I say I'll try. talk to them. Especially my mother didn't really want him.

And then time flew by, after two boyfriends wanted me to be a woman, they told me I had to come of age, and I had to act like an adult, and I was very supportive. little, financially or otherwise, to be my own. So I really - so I didn't have a nice story, but all I really had was my current partner who completely accepted me, and his friend who become one of my only friends, with my partner, but they are both. my best friends and they support me. That's all I have at the moment, but I'm fine with that.

Nick Duncan

I don't know if I can say that I've officially come to someone. Well, and that's not entirely true, I've been to meet up with friends, and it's always been an interesting conversation. I remember when I was in college, I went to one of my best friends, and I had to text her because I couldn't tell her, and it made me weird saying things like position. And his reaction was just, “Oh, I know. I know that. "So I guess it - it's not something that's a secret of any kind. I just think people always have a hunch and they just need confirmation from you.

But just about the idea that came up, I think it's very interesting, depending on where in the world you come from and what your culture is like, and the protocol that works there, where does this idea come from? . since, I think having gone to college in the US and hearing a bunch of stories coming out, I don't think I have a story that I can relate to this experience. I don't... I didn't introduce my parents. I've never seriously talked about my sexuality with my parents, or siblings about it, but it's an accepted fact that it is. But I think it's also because I come from a culture that is generally very repressive about sex and I don't want to talk about it - because it's not who I love, it's who I sleep with, and We don't talk about that part of our lives ever.

And I think that's true - it just rules out the idea of ​​breaking out of South Asian culture in general. And many other Asian cultures too. And some of it is religious, but most of it is just culture and how we communicate with each other, and especially with our elders and parents. It's a part of your life that you don't necessarily have to introduce to them. Yes, but it's always been interesting to me, between the two identities that I have to ride, one I have at home and the other I live here in Washington DC. Yeah, I think dating means different things in different parts of the world. So that's my take on that. Great. Thank you.

Murphy Grant

I am 22 years old, turning 23 on Thursday, and from Madison, Wisconsin. I went out with my mother. He was the first person I talked to. I'm 1

years old. I grew up in a well-educated, white middle-class family. I never doubted in my mind that if I came back to debut, my mother would accept me. And so one night in mid-January 2008, I approached his office and knocked on his door. And I said, "I need to tell you about something." I sat on the floor in front of his desk, because I didn't know where to sit at the time. I was too worried.

I told him I didn't feel like everyone else, but I knew I was fine. That I was loved. And she was confused, you know. Why do I say I don't feel like everyone else? I had to explain to him, "I like boys." I'm not one to be disappointed or speechless, but that's all I can say at the time. And I cried a little bit, and she came around the table and picked me up and hugged me. And she said my life would be very difficult. It will be harder than his.

If people look at me and treat me differently, they'll know - "if they know you're gay, they'll judge you for things that aren't true." She started to cry, and I cried too, and she said, “I love you so much because you trusted me to tell me that, because you know that I will love you and love you will accept. She cares. She joked that she wanted to get a peace sign bumper sticker right away, although I haven't told anyone else in the world but her. She was the first person I went to see. I loved her so much and didn't think I would be - a successful, brilliant and proud college graduate six years later. More than that - eight years later. I wouldn't be the same without her.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for YolandaSchultz
2 years ago
Topics: Lgbtq, Pride, Love

Comments