Japanese Foods that I tried

25 33
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Yesterday I started to watched different kinds of street food from different countries and one of them was street foods of Japan. Foods in Japan is famous here in the Philippines same as Korean food and other country dishes. I already tasted some of their food like Takoyaki, Ramen, Sushi, Yakitori and Okonomiyaki but I dont know if its authentic. I mean there's a lot of version of Japanese food here from different restaurant and If you're going to find the authentic one, its more pricey than the usual that we saw on food courts and other chain.

As I watching yesterday, I also decided to make an article about it since I am already had a research about it. So all of this words below are comes from my research on different website but I didnt copy pasted it. I will include the links of the website at the end of my article to give credits to them. And the remaining part of my article was based on my own experienced. So let's start.

Takoyaki

credits to the owner

Takoyaki is like a fried balls with an octopus filling inside. It was cooked in the molder like a waffle and put an octopus and cabbage inside. The outer layer is crispy but the inner layer is soft like a tofu. It comes with three sauces. The lemon sauce, mayonaise sauce and the special takoyaki sauce. It has also a toppings of fish shavings which I love when eating Takoyaki. When I buy some Takoyaki in the Philippines I preffered to mixed all thier sauces because it more taste good. The first time I tasted it, I dont like it but on the other day I am craving for Takoyaki and now it's one of favorite.

This is my own photo of Takoyaki that I bought in one of the stall in SM Ayala. I am their regular customer haha. I always request for more sauce when I buy to their store. I remember when my officemate told me, why you love that Takoyaki. I dont like the smell of it. I just said. I love weird things hahaha.

Okonomiyaki

credits to the owner.

Okonomiyaki is a Japanese pancake, but not like a typical pancake it has a twist. The ingredients of the okonomiyaki is flour, eggs and cabbage. Some put a different kind of veggies and meat for more flvor. When preparing it, you just need to mixed all the ingradients in the bowl and grill it. There are also an other way of cooking it. It is called the Hiroshima Style, the first one I mentioned is Kansai Style. Unlike the Kansai Style, the Hiroshima Style hs an additonal Yakisoba Noodles. Okonomiyki has a toppings such as fried seaweed, mayonnaise and okonomiyaki sauce.

I tried this recipe on my own. The Kansai Style. I love the crunchiness of the cabbages as well the tasted of the mayonaise that makes the Okonomiyaki more flavorful. I dont have a photo of it but as I was writing this I started to crave for some, maybe in the other day I will cook.

Yakitori

credits to the owner

Yakitori is a small pieces of chicken that skewered and grill on a bamboo stick. The most used part of chicken that used in Yakitori is thighs and wings but it can also made with other parts of chicken like liver, skin and intestine. It is like a barbeque here in the Philippines but the difference is that Yakitori has an added ingredients like tsukune and negima.

I already tasted Yakitori, if Im not mistaken , it was in the Giligans. I ordered it just because of curiosity , the name was interesting and after I ordered it I knew it was like a chicken barbeque 😄

Yakisoba

credits to the owner

Yakisoba is a stir fried noodles with pork and veggies such as cabbage, carrots and onions. It is more likely the Pancit Guisado of the Philippines but this dish has a special sauce that gives the noodles their tangy and spicy flavor. You can served this dish with a bun. There was an instant noodles here named Nissin Yakisoba and it is one of my favorite because of its unique flavor. I already tasted Yakisoba in one of the restaurant in SM Ayala but I forgot the name of the restaurant 😄

Ramen

credits to the owner

Ramen literally means pulled noodles. When we think about Japanese food the first thing that comes to my mind is ramen 😄 A ramen is a Japanese noodle soup served with meat or fish based broth, it is flavored with soysauce and put a toppings such as sliced pork, nori, menms and scallions.Every region in Japn has its own version in Ramen and I wathced a vlog on you tube , it was Jelai San Andres blog tour in Japan that the most noisy you est the ramen the more you show that the ramen is good.

I tried Ramen here in the Philippines but its an Eme Emeng Ramen. I mean its not authentic like the one in Ramen Nagi. I want to eat there when payday but no one want to come with me because one bowl of their Ramen was pricey 😄 So there's a food park in Mandaluyong, infront of Jose Rizal University where I bought the Eme Emeng Ramen. It cost 150 PHP and yeah, it taste like Eme Eme.

Sushi

credits to the owner

Sushi is a traditional Japanese dish prepared with rice and vinegar. It is usully with some sugar and salt with other ingredients such as seafoodand vegetable. The style of sushi has mny presentation.

Im not a fan of sushi. I tried it before but I dont want the combination of the flavor of the vinegar rice, mango stick and crab stick that need to deep on. soy sauce with calamansi. I eat a few but not like the one that I am craving but I love the Japanese rice.

Sources :

https://theculturetrip.com/asia/japan/articles/14-amazing-japanese-street-foods-you-ll-love/

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ramen

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sushi

That's all for now guys. I want to write more but Im already tired of typing and also researching 😄 Goodnight guys.

How about you? What are the Japanese food that you tried?

9
$ 0.41
$ 0.41 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

We actually cook those at home then ampan mochi and some egg dishes they have too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I forgot the mochi 😄 Gusto ko din yun hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yupp have you tried daifuku amd taiyaki yet?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not yet hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Nakatikim na din ako ng takoyaki, nong unang kagat hmm, okay masarap, pero bat nong nasa pangatlo na ako biglang nakakaumay ma 😅, di na tuloy ako umulit kahit pa meron dito samin kaharap tindahan lang, pero gisto ko ung napapanuod ko sa facebook yong namumutok sa palaman, I mean laman sa loob, grabi, big takoyaki sya, nakakapag laway ba.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo yung authentic yta malaki yung pusit e haha. Dito eme eme lang

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Haha, eme eme 😂, peeo yung iba diko pa natitikman, pero sparang masasarao, lalo na ramen, naiisip ko si naruto 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Dipako nakatikim ng original ramen kamahal kasi hha nasa 300+ per bowl

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Nyawww, ginto, luto nalang ako ng lucky me beef lagyaan ko nalang din ng pork na toppings at gulay 😂😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kya nga nakakahinayang haha. Yayamanin lang nakaka afford 😄 Mag mami nalang tayo 25php lang haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yakosiba, ramen, sushi lng natikman ko jan 🤣 pro i guess my iba dn along natikman, d ko lng alam name..haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo minsan di natin alam yung name, kain lang tayo ng kain.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

True..btw yung kikyam at shawara galing san yun? 😅 yun fav ko dati college all

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yung kikiam chinese food yun e. Yung meaning ng kikiam sa chinese e ground pork, napanuod ko somewhere haha. Yung shawarma namin alam ko Mediterranean sya..

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Kya play nakikita alo kikiam dto..pro d kopa natry.. Balak ko actually magpost ng hong kong street foods before..kaso katamad gumala at magpicture ng streetfoods. .haha.. Maybe next time..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wait ko yan hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Mmm, delicious. Here in the UK I think we have traditionally (and wrongly) thought of Japanese food as mainly being sushi, but personally I prefer some of the other dishes such as Yakisoba. I have never tried fried octopus balls but they do look and sound amazing!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Im sure you will love the fried octopus when you tried it :)

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Nice

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Takoyaki and Sushi palang natatry ko dito. But I have also tried their other dishes nung kumain kami sa isang Japanese restaurant. Di ko lang maalala ung name, basta nag'Arigato kami, alam kong Japanese un. Hahahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Medyo may similarities din yung lasa ng food nila sa food natin no? Unlike sa ibang country

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes po kasi sinakop tayo ng mga hapon for 33 years. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga pala hahaha. Same sa espanyol na na-adapt namn nating yung language nila nd naging Filipino language na pero hindi technically . Basta 😄

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I get your point po. Borrowed languange kumbaga. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo hehe tulad ng Lunes Martes Myerkules Hwebes Byernes Sabado. hahaha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago