I want him to grew up with confidence.

8 29
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

When I was a child I am lacking on self confidence resulting for me to be afraid on doing what I want. I carry this fear until I grew up and end up staying on my comfort zone. I know the feeling of being afraid and thinking a lot of what ifs when you will do something new and I dont want my son experienced my I feel on those moments. I promised to myself that I will raise my son with confidence so that he can freely do what he wants in his life and able to reach his dream and showcase his talent without fear and thinking about everything the stop him from doing what he wants.

As a first time mom I am always find a way to help my son to have a confidence and remove his doubts on doing what he wants. I want to witnessed on how he build his confidence as he grew older. I know the main reason to have a confidence in yourself is trust your ability as a person and that's the thing I don't have when I was young. Now that I am a mother I will make sure that it will not happened to my son.

This is not my own idea on how to help my son with regards on building his confidence. I only read it on one of the parenting website and I am trying apply it with my son and here's the tips.

Give time to play with your child.

Sometimes I am guilty with this one because I am busy doing household chores and also browsing my phone. Sometimes I let him play together with her cousin and didn't play with them that makes me guilty because I know it's not right but not all the time as I also make time to play with him when I have free time.

I watched with him when he was watching a YouTube video and I asked him what he was watching to create a bonding for both of us. Sometimes we sing a song together like now he loves to sing the finger family and incy wincy spider. When he was outside I make sure that I look after him and support what he do as long as it is not dangerous. Sometimes he said Mama let's play , let run and then I will tell him go ahead. We play catch the ball sometimes even if it makes me tired but I am happy because he is happy too.

It is important that your child feel that they are your priorities and you are willing to engaged with them during playtime.

Give your child an minimal task.

I remember the saying I read on the other platform , lazy parents raised a hard-working children and sometimes I am thinking about it haha. My son is turning 3 years old now and his very young age I must say that I can trust him doing simple task in the house. As a mom I want him to feel that he is belong and he has some contribution on the chores here and in his very young age I practice him doing and expose to my routine in the house.

Aside from keeping his toys after he played it , I also make some request sometimes when I am busy with the other chores like baby can you please get the dustpan in the backyard or can you please turn off the faucet.

Sometimes even if I didnt asked him to do chores he voluntarily do it because he saw it to me and seeing him like that makes me think that he can do it because he believes in his ability.

Be attentive.

If you give you child a time to hear them , they may feel that they are important to you and that feeling of importance makes them build thier self worth and thier confidence. One thing that you need to do when you are talking to your child is an eye to eye contact so that they can feel the comfort on talking to you and help th to be open on thier emotions. You can also try to open up some of your experiences to them so that you can be thier example on opening things up.

As a mom , I know it's funny but I do it to my son and it is so amazing because at his young age he already remembers it. Let me share to you one moment when I share things to him. It is about a cut on my belly because he always touch it and I told him this was where he release when I gave birth to him and I was laughing everytime he said that and he didn't forget it.

Words of encouragement.

Praise and encouragement are two different things. If you give praise to your child , it is a pure praise like you draw it great. Encouragement is a praising your child and thier hardwork. Don't stop with giving praises instead add some words of encouragement like you really put hardwork on your drawing. Great job!

A child who always recieved a praise will only feel thier worth during those time that they do something to he praise. And sometimes the disadvantage of this is they will always find that praise in every things that they do and also the approval of other people but if a child received an encouragement , they will learn to always put an effort in everything that they did.

Be a good example.

Parents will only teach thier child on how to have confidence if the parents itself provide a good example to the child. You also need to take good care of your mental health so that you can teach your child. You can't teach your child to be confident if you didn't show to them how to be like that.

Closing thoughts

I am happy that my son are not afraid of people. He is friendly to other people and also engaged to them that makes me relieved because I know he comfortable on expressing himself. As a mom I am always at his back as a support in everything that he choose to do.

7
$ 10.96
$ 10.64 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 5
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

He grew up nicely because he has a good Mother <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very good to support children when they are young. I like that you are trying to create time for your son and helping him to gain confidence in himself. As parents, children shouldn't be limited to some things because the parent weren't coming up in that area. They need help and guidance and I can see you are helping him in that area. This is something I also learnt here. Thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes as I don't want him to be like me who has lack of self confidence.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Dapat tlga sanayin habang bata pa.. Ako hndi natrain ni mama kc isa dn yung introvert 😅 nagmana lng sa kNya..kaya nadala ko hanggang paglaki yung pagka mahiyain at lack ng self confidence

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Karamihan yata satin dito ganon e. Mga introvert tapos sa virtual ang dadaldal 😂

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Someday, ako naman ang mag seset ng goals para sa anak ko, ako naman ang mag aalala, mapapagof at kung ano ank pa. Ewan lang if handa na ako kahit 40 yearts old na ako, aguyy. Pero need talaga sa bata ang confidence madam, pero wag yong sobra, dapat sakto lang. Yong puro pero may tamis, charowttt gahaha. Wala nga pala akong alam sa ganito aguyy 😵

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maexperience mo din Yan soon . Oo Yung Tama Lang. Hindi over confident

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Hahaha, ayaw ko nga ata maexperience hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago