Have you tried Rice Cakes?

38 34
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

This article is inspired by @Myt.24 article about her favorite sweets in the Philippines 💞

You can check it here.

As I was reading her article I thought of different desserts here in the Philippines but the majority of my thought were Rice Cakes 😄 Maybe because its also a good dessert sometimes or it's just me? That eating rice cakes as their dessert hehe.

So today I wanna share to you my Top 5 Rice Cake favorites but before that, this is the definition of Rice Cake according to Wikipedia. This is for those user from the other country that have not idea what rice cake is.

A rice cake may be any kind of food item made from rice that has been shaped, condensed, or otherwise combined into a single object. A wide variety of rice cakes exist in many different cultures in which rice is eaten, and are particularly prevalent in Asia. Common variations include cakes made with rice flour those made from ground rice, and those made from whole grains of rice compressed together or combined with some other binding substance.

Here's my Top 5 .

1.Palitaw

ctto

Palitaw is a small, flat, sweet rice cake made from sticky rice. It is washed, soaked, and then ground. Formed it into a flat circle and dropped into a boiling water. This rice cake called Palitaw because the indication that the rice cake is cooked is when it was rise in the water. Palitaw is best when served with grated coconut and sugar.

2.Suman Kamote Kahoy

ctto

Suman Kamoteng Kahoy is made of grated cassava cooked with coconut milk and wrapped in banana leaf. You can also add some fillings like chocolate and cheese but it is done during modern days.

3.Maja Blanca

ctto

Maja Blanca is made from coconut milk, cornstarch and sugar. Theres also Maja Corn which is made by corn flour and Maja Munggo that has a coconut milk sauce.

4.Pichi Pichi

ctto

Pichi pichi is another traditional Filipino dessert made simply with cassava, sugar, and lye. It is steamed and best serve with cheese. I remember the Pichi Pichi of Ambers Best 💞

5.Biko

ctto

Biko is a Filipino rice cake made from glutinous rice, coconut milk, and brown sugar.  It is best serves with latik and paired with black coffee.

I also love Espasol, Cassava Cake, Kalamay, Kutsina and more 😆

Have you tried Rice Cakes? What's your favorite and why ?

9
$ 0.00
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

I never tried... But after seeing this i think i should try this once😋...thanks for sharing.... please subscribe back my id dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Are you from Philippines?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Why are you all trying to make me crave the stuff i can't get ;;-;; orz i miss palitaw so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You can make Palitaw on your own hehe. There's a glutinous rice powder available in the market. You just an some water to it and form flat circle then drop it in a boiling water. Its easy to prepare.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I like the dry one with the coconut and alllll the one my mom makes has sauce in it and looks like worms because that's how my grandma prepared it orz.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Waiting for your next article with the recipe and process of cooking these delicacies! 😍😍 I love all of that. 🤤🤤🤤😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I will published an article once I made rice cakes 😄 or I will cook rice cakes na so that I can show it here na hahah

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes yes please. I can't wait. 🤗😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't like rice cakes. 😅 But I can say yes to Maja Blanca as it is tastes like a Leche flan. 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seriously? Why?

Yes, maja blanca taste like leche plan when maja was made with lots of cheese and milk.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I don't know. Nasasawa ako sa mga kakanin e. Di ko hilig.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maja blanca pinaka favorite ko. Lalo kung luto ni mama. Hehe. Hello mommy yen 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The one with corn ba? Yung gawa sa cornstarch? Ako mas gusto ko yung munggo na maja hehe. Yung may sabaw na gata 😅

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

The one that comes with peanut. It smells good kase. Pero okay narin ang mais. Hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

with peanut? Sounds new to me hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yup. Crushed peanut. It adds flavor to the maja. Once mixed with the maja, it smells so good. It's best to eat when it's still hot.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Really? I will try to add some peanuts when I cook Maja hehe.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yes mommy yen. Check it on youtube. I believe there are clips there about maja blanca with peanuts.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you Jeanneth hehe. I will check it.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ooops. Spelling 🙈😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ow hahaha. Jeaneth 😄

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I love Pichi-Pichi, but I'm looking for Bilo-bilo now haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There's a lot of rice cakes din near antipolo. In rizal they have black biko which it tasted really good hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I can cook Biko too one of my specialties, That Black one hehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Enebeyen Mon hahaha. Isabay mo nadin yun sa binangkal mo kapag nagawi ka ng Nueva HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Noted Mamsh, Hahaha ang dami na nun ah pili lang isa po haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Okay nako sa nauna hehe. Nakatikim na ko nung black biko e. hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Haha Binangkal na Mamsh

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes! For the win haha

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Pichi Pichi ans cassava balls are my favorite.. Also the palitaw is great with hot chocolate and sweet ripe mangoes.. Hmm. Makes me hungry 😋

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Cassava balls? Never tried it yet. It taste like pichi pichi lang din?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Yup they're like smaller version of pichi Pichi but it's more firm and are like fishballs that are skewered and dipped In latik.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its like carioca? Ganon ba yun? I think there's no cassava balls here in our place hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

I don't know what's carioca.. Hahah! Tingnan ko kung yan nga yun

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its a glutinous rice balls hehe. With sugar coating. Maybe in your place , you called it differenly hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Ayh.. Parang ganun sya pero cassava. Hehehe

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow they are all my favorite. When i was in the city i was always familiar with sumang malagkit and cassava. When i'm permanently living in here in the province i learned that we call the suman "patupat."😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Patupat? Is that a kind of suman inside the bamboo? Parang narinig ko na yun e

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago