Filipino Beef Soup

5 42
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

It's raining here today and I thought of a recipe that will suit for this kind of weather ♥️ If the rain will continue until tomorrow maybe I gonna prepare it for our lunch if I can manage to buy beef in the market 😅


How it started.

Philippines is rich when it comes to cows and carabaos because they are the support of the farmers in the field works. Farming is the main source of income of our ancestors way back. It is also the main source of meat in the Philippines. One of the ways in preserving their food is through boiling and putting the meat under the sun. It's important because they need a food especially on rainy days that the food is limited because of the weather. Through this way of preserving the food. The Filipino Beef Soup started.

The difference between Filipino Beef Soup and Beef Bulalo.

Many people are arguing about the difference of Filipino Beef Soup and Beef Bulalo. If you will see , both recipe are the same in the ways of cooking it but differs on the type/part of the beef used. The difference between the two is in the Beef Bulalo recipe they are using beef stank and in Filipino Beef Soup they are using pure meat of the beef.

Meat of the beef is used when cooking Filipino Beef Soup. It is cheaper than the part of a beef who has bones and you can also eat more meat because it has no bones 😅 Bone marrow is the important part of the beef when cooking Beef Bulalo. It is more pricey because the bone marrow gives more flavor to the soup and bone marrow is also limited in the market.

We are using meat of the beef that why the cooking time is short compared when you used other part of the beef like in Beef Bulalo, you need to boiled the bone marrow in a long period of time to make the flavor of the meat spread on the soup. In the Filipino Beef Soup once the beef is tender you can served it.

Here's how to prepare Filipino Beef Soup. It is my father's recipe :) He loves this soup and he prepared it oftentimes in our house.

Photo credits to google

Ingredients :

Ordinary Beef in the market

Cabbage

Potato

Baguio Beans

Sweet Corn

Onion and Spring Onions

Ripe Banana ( Saba )

Black Pepper ( Whole )

Fish Sauce

Water

Cooking Procedure :

  • Put the beef , water , black pepper , onion and fish sauce on the pressure cooker for 45 minutes. Once it is tender , remove the oil part ( sebo) on the top of the soup.

  • Turn on the heat again and let it simmer. After that you can now add the potato , sweet corn and banana.

  • Then add the cabbage and the spring onions.

  • Turn off the heat and you can now served this Filipino Beef Soup while it's hot :)

Nowadays it s better to buy beef instead of pork because the difference of their price is just small 😂

That's all guys ♥️


Though I am writing a recipe now. I still want to add this #Club1BCH logo to my article 💚

6
$ 0.04
$ 0.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Yen
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Yen
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Ahhh ot is nilaga! I like bulalo more if it's beef but nilaga is great too :"" and since beef and pork are basically the same price now, we mix this in the menu now too

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mas mura na nga yata Ang beef 😅 I saw my friend selling beef shank and it's 300 per kilo

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

OnO cheap- nasa 400 pa din red meat dito and i miss nilaga :""

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What do you call that recipe? It's one of my favourites. I call it, Pochero but I don't know if that the real name of that recipe. Every Sunday when I was a kid, my mom cooked that for us. But I never asked her about the name of the recipe. So I just ended up calling it pochero, you know why? I was in the market and I saw that on carenderia and I heard someone calling it pochero. I don't have the chance to ask the seller if what's it's name because I'm not going to buy.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It is similar to Pochero but the difference is that , the Pochero has some tomato sauce that make the soup colored orange. Maybe I will write an article for that recipe hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago