The Day I asked A Girl for Her Number

0 20
Avatar for YDKleke
2 years ago

I can still remember the day like it was yesterday. Oh my, it is a day I will never forget.

It was on a Wednesday. I remember that I woke up rather late that morning. That was because I was reading all through the night. After waking up, I went to the laundry mart to get my clothes washed. I spent an awfully long amount of time there because the queue was so long. This was surprising to me because who would chose a Wednesday morning of all days to wash their clothes. I was finally able to wash my clothes and left soon after. I checked my watch and it was already fifteen minutes to twelve. Time had already pass. I quickly made cereals with milk and sugar so that I don't go hungry that morning. It wasn't much but I just had to manage it specifically because I was extremely broke. It was already the end of the month and I barely had anything left.

After eating, I surfed through the internet for a while, then checked my social media pages to see if I had any important message and lastly I checked my email. When I was done, I finally settled to read my book.

After I opened my textbook I received a call from my father. I was wondering what he could possibly be calling me for. I reluctantly picked up his call.

Father - "Samson, how are you doing?"

I replied "Good afternoon sir, I'm doing well

He always liked being called sir. He said that it was a sign of respect.

He said "Do you know that the covid-19 vaccine just arrived in the country and the government has began vaccination?"

I replied "Oh yes, I heard about that. Some of my friends were even talking about it"

He continued " Ok, that's good. I've registered you to go and take the vaccine. I'm coming to pick you in the next twenty minutes. I even took my vaccination shot yesterday

Shocked, I replied "Ok daddy"

I was truly shocked and irritated by what had just happened. Why would he do something like that without even informing me? Without asking for my permission? And even rushing me in such a manner. I was really pissed off but I had no choice than to get ready and go and meet him. I hadn't even had my bath.

He actually came in the next 20 minutes and thank goodness I was ready. He drove me to the vaccination center and dropped me off. I entered and filled out a card. After that I joined the queue, it wasn't long but it was moving slowly. This was because only one person was attending to us on that line.

I was standing for long and visibly irritated and that's when this girl stepped on me. I will normally shout at her in that situation but when she turned and looked at me, I was speechless. She looked at me with such innocence and apologize. I couldn't even reply because she had taken my breath away. I just mumbled ok and she turned back. I was truly smitten.

I immediately texted my friend and asked him how I can get a girl's number. He was first shocked that how can I be asking such a question. That I was such a bookworm. But I told him to be fast that I desperately need it. I asked him for pickup lines but he said that he doesn't think I can handle it. He just said that I should be confident and talk to her. I was really nervous and wondering if I could do it.

When she got to the front of the line I knew that it would be now or never because I don't think I will get another opportunity to ask her out. Thankfully she needed my help for a question on the form and I answered her. From there I was able to strike up a conversation about where she was from. I was even able to get more topics because I secretly looked at her form. I was considerably taller than her. We talked about her course of study, level ,hall and general school life and all the test. It was from there I got the courage to ask her for her number.

She was taken aback. She was like what do you need it for. I was like she has a very wonderful vibe and I will like to keep the conversation going. I gave her my phone and she put her number. I was so happy. It worked! She then scared me that that's her Dad phone number. I was terrified. Did it back fire? That's when she said she was joking. Oh thank God, that would have been really embarrassing. We talked for a little while and then she left. I was then attended to and I left shortly after. My dad was waiting for me and we left together. I saw her on the way but I wasn't able to greet her because of my dad. Thank God she didn't see me (or so I thought).

When I got back to my hostel and I told my friend, he was shocked. He wondered how I grew the 'balls' to do such. Till today he is still surprised. I asked the age old question "who should text first or when should I text her". Every guy I asked told me different things but to my utmost surprise, she messaged me first and till now we've been talking since. I wasn't able to ask her out because she is in a relationship but we are still friends. Hopefully one day we will be more than that.

I will like to thank my sponsors. You all are the best and I will also like to call for support in anyway possible to keep giving you guys great content.

Sponsors of YDKleke
empty
empty
empty

Also, a shout out to @Abhay for the poster. You are the best man.

Till next time.

5
$ 0.18
$ 0.10 from @McRonald
$ 0.05 from @Abhay
$ 0.02 from @Greatwolfman
+ 1
Avatar for YDKleke
2 years ago

Comments