Diary of an African Child 4

0 24
Avatar for YDKleke
2 years ago

It's time to present the sacrifice.

My father, the priest started dancing the spiritual dance. It was something serious but I couldn't hold my laughter. The way he moved his body especially his head and buttocks was a sight to behold. It was as if he was the village jester. He noticed that I was laughing and quickly gave me a warning look, I immediately comported myself and stopped laughing. I didn't want the wrath of the gods and my father at the same time.

When he was done, he started reciting the incarnations all from his head. He didn't write it down in a book and he was able to say it word for word. This was a bit scary to me because it was really long and it would take a lot of time and effort to master or it could just be that he was possessed by a spirit from the spiritual realm. I started to notice some changes in my environment.

The wind blew inside the room, rustling of leaves. The trees whisting and the sounds of thunder. I was already scared at this point. To cap it, I started hearing voices. My brother and I were terrified. We almost ran away from the shrine but our father warned us that if we moved a muscle we will be six feet below the ground in no time. We stayed put until he finished reciting the incarnations and he called us to join him as we praised the gods together and bowed down to them seven times.

When we were done our father left the shrine carrying the sacrifice to go and present it. It was pitch black at this time and I had a feeling that something was not right. I felt uneasy as if something was watching me or I was in the presence of a someone. I started panicking and thinking of different ways to escape. I had an intuition that I wasn't supposed to be hear but that's when my father said I should follow him. I vehemently refused as I would not accompany him on such a journey, not in this life or the ones to come. He didn't shout or argue with me, he just walked up to me and blew a black powder on my face. Till this day I don't know what happened to me, I lost control of my body and only had my mind with me. He commanded me to follow him and I obeyed. I didn't understand what was going on with me, why would he use his black magic on me and worst of all I couldn't do anything about it.

I kept following and as we got closer, it got darker but somehow we were still able to find our way. After some time, we finally got to the place. My father stopped us at a considerable distance from a tall tree. I guess that's where he was supposed to place the sacrifice. What was mysterious to me was that although everywhere was dark, light shone at the feet of the tree. Truly there were spirits involved. The tree was very tall and extended into the heavens, it didn't have too many branches and the colours of the leaves were black. It looked so old, you would think it was there at the beginning of creation or maybe it was.

My father approached the tree slowly singing a specific song. He dropped it directly in front of the tree and turned his back. He walked towards me without for once looking back. He didn't see what I saw. I saw a four-legged creature come out of the tree immediately he turned back. The creature looked terrifying and disgusting, like a science experiment gone wrong. It had three horns on its forehead,a ring on each one. Two eyes that were blood red, a mouth full of fangs which were black in color and a very long tail which ended in the shape of a tail. It had claws that could literally tear right through a person.

It carried the sacrifice, gave me a devilish smile and went right back into the tree. My father already reached my side by the time I had finish seeing all of this and commanded me to walk. Halfway to the shrine he released me from the spell and told me that the reason he did what he did was that the gods were calling him home and as such he needed a successor and out of everyone he chose me. That's the reason I followed him, to present me to do gods. I didn't say anything as I knew I would only be prolonging the matter. I already had a plan in my mind.

Time to leave this god-damn village.

Sponsors of YDKleke
empty
empty
empty

I would like to appreciate my sponsors for their support, it hasn't been easy.

Till next time.

2
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @McRonald
Avatar for YDKleke
2 years ago

Comments