Not Your Keys, Not Your Coins. My Experience.

0 23
Avatar for Wumeepope
3 years ago

It's no longer news that the exchange Altilly was hacked and traders fund stolen. The exchange claimed it cannot ascertained neither verify users balance and primarily depends on screenshot from users trying to claim their coins.

I was a victim of this hack as over 20,000 1UP of mine was stolen in the hack. Remembered when Trust wallet (Unreliable Trust) showed the price of 1UP as $0.1? I woke up that day to see the new price and quickly moved my 1UP to Altilly (I have my Altilly deposit address for 1UP saved on my phone) to convert to Ethereum.

I realised the price of 1UP didn't change substantially on Altilly but instead of withdrawing my 1UP back to my wallet, I left it on Altilly and forgot it there. It was sometimes after the new year festivities, while trying to check 1UP price on Coingecko that I realised Altilly was hacked and my 1UP stolen.

Altilly claimed the theft of 1UP on their exchange was complete and as such, with no 100% guarantee, I'll have to wait for at least 6 months before I can get my 1UP back.

Whenever you hear if it's not your keys, it's not your coins, it's so true and I'm a witness to that fact now as I'm not even sure I'll get my coins back. My carelessness cost me on Altilly and one reason I detest Coinmarketcap so much now.

NB. I believe Altilly is directly affiliated to Reddit. If Altilly can be this easily hacked and Data stolen, I believe you should be conscious of private data you share on Reddit.

1
$ 0.33
$ 0.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Wumeepope
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Wumeepope
3 years ago

Comments