Missed opportunity

0 19
Avatar for Write4bch
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Career, Army

Today I would share one of the saddest moment of my life( as people describe it), I am still confused how to describe it. But for simplicity learning curve is the couplet by which I would describe it. So it happened in autumn of 2019. I was in class 12th and had cleared one of the toughest exam. Now it was time to face my first job interview in life. It was begging of my adult life, or probably it began when I failed the interview.

My interview was of 5 days, people would think that is time for ideal vacation, but it was for armed forces, so I guess time was right. At that time I was in a boarding school, so I packed all necessary things( arranged  all necessary things from here and there ), and boarded the train for my interview. In train journey I felt so much pressure , I was constantly thinking about my interview, it was something which I never experienced in my life. After not so relax journey I reached the destination. Everything was beautiful, only sad part was that I was struggling not think about my interview. Fortunately for me I met few lively and kind people there who also came for interview. It was for them that I calmed my nerves and balanced myself for sometime. After having Breakfast we all were waiting for our bus to take us toward the interview center. Finally the bus arrived and we all boarded the bus to see what destiny had in store for us.

When we landed in the interview center, it felt the most disciplined place on earth. Everything was all clean and tidy, people moved in a particular fashion, pale candidates with hopeful eyes were everywhere. I could see myself in some of them. After entering the center we were briefed about how our interview would be conducted, various rules of the place and we were also told to enjoy the stay( it seemed sarcastic though, but I could be wrong ). First part of the session was document verification. We all filled few forms and signed at few places. Then first phase of interview began. We were asked to write a story within 4 minutes, then narrate the story in a group and finally take part in a group discussion to arrive at a common story. We were also asked to take two aptitude test, which had verbal and non verbal questions.

After completing all the writing, we assembled in a group of 14. Here we were asked to discuss our stories and arrive at common  conclusion. As soon as discussion started it became the Parliament of a country, useless words from potential leaders. Chances of people hearing were less than chances of getting a chance to speak. Very soon our assessors got angry and told all of us to be more orderly. But here everyone was there with a mission to get into armed forces, so no one was willing to back down. Discussion ended with total chaos, I did manage to speak a points although it landed on deaf ears and vocal mouths. Now everyone performed their best and everyone was waiting for results to arrive.

We were asked to have lunch first, although I was stressed still I enjoyed my lunch a lot. I think it was one of the finest dish I had in the interview period. I also made few friends within that small amount of time. One of them is still in my contact. Now time for results arrived. We were asked to assemble in a room. A officer came and greeted us. First he told us that even if we don't get selected we still have many options in our lives to succeed. Basically he consoles us before kicking some of us out. Now he started announcing name of people who got selected in phase 1. He was reading the name and suddenly I heard my number I stood up and felt a sigh of relief. At that moment a wave of pride entered in me and I got a much needed self confidence boost, which I was desperately lacking. My selection in first phase opened the gate for me to stay 4 more days and fight for my selection in armed forces.

I hope you liked reading this article. I will soon release part 2.
Thank you

I have republished this article on hive blog. Link is here https://ecency.com/hive-125125/@abhi2584/interview-for-armed-forces

100% original content

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Write4bch
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Career, Army

Comments