Break Up Blues

0 9
Avatar for Wordsfromthebible
1 year ago

Stop. Don't say. I walk away

rather than hear your words

of disappointment.

I can see it in your dark eyes

gleaming with fierce emotion

have I let you down?

I am me. I can change

but I don't want to, not for this

not just because you want it

for I do not. Not really

and we part as strangers

where once we were lovers

then friends to acquaintances

to only this.

It's far harder to break up

and face the pain of now

than to stay together

and be miserable forever

and deep down we know this

but can we accept it?

I will. I won't look back. Not ever,

focussed always ahead

towards an uncertain future

and imminent pain that like my

memories will fade.

Eventually.

2
$ 1.04
$ 1.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Wordsfromthebible
1 year ago

Comments