A Work in Progress

3 40
Avatar for WordsAndArts
3 years ago

Like a museum, I am full of art - mysteries, mixed colors, unfinished sketches, symbols behind stories. Yes, I am still a work in progress.


I'm writing this so I could formally introduce myself to all of you. Starting with my name, I am Darian. I'm 19 years old and came from the northwestern region of my beloved country, the Philippines.

I think I am just a simple girl, I keep wondering and wandering with what the world has to offer. The most important thing to me about a person is his/her perspective. It is where the soul is - how you see the world. I do dream a lot of things, big things actually, because it is something that keeps my sanity. Without our dreams, we won't be able to find our purpose, and without our purpose, our lives would become meaningless.

Believe me when I say life was so hard with me the past years. I battled with my own mind, I fought depression. Nevertheless, those dark and twisty nights are gone and I am here - anew and full of vivid colors. My battle scars may stay with me forever, but isn't something to hide. I am proud that I am still here in this world.

I am currently a second year Accountancy student in a state university in our province. With everything that I have been through, to survive a single day is already a big achievement for me. I have a lot of stories and life lessons that I have picked a long the way and I wish that I will be able to tell them to you.

To know me more, here are some facts that you might wanna know:

  1. My zodiac sign is Aries. I was born on April 13, 2001.

  2. I am a dog person. I have three dogs at the present and I want about twenty!

  3. I read novels and watch tv series. One of my favorites is Grey's Anatomy (but I still unfinished).

  4. I love plants. Yes, I am a Plantita! Plants are necessary for my growth. It calms me and gives me hope.

  5. I am crafty! I do a lot of DIY projects and sometimes put it as my business.

  6. I do my best to recycle and protect our loving Earth.

  7. I am materialistic, not in a bad way though. I like to keep the things that have been in my memorable times - receipts, tickets, dried flowers, you name it!

  8. I dream of becoming a CPA, but other than that, I want to have a business.

  9. I badly want to learn how to bake. If only we have oven, I would be baking everyday.

  10. I can't cook, I can't swim, and I can't drive. Unfortunately.

  11. I'm an introvert. I really don't like socializing, I tried my best during my Junior High School days. I have joined lots of activities, seminars, events, and camping, but in the end, it just made me realize that I'm really introverted.

  12. I like mountains better than going to the beach. I haven't tried hiking yet though.


Aside from what I have mentioned, I hope you will fully know me through my succeeding articles. Before I put this one in a period, I want to leave with you some of the art of words that I live by.

  • Some plans change and it's okay.

No matter how we perfectly plan a thing, life will not always choose the pathway we prefer and most of the time, this is to save us from a burden. We have to understand that everything happens for a reason, no matter how hard or hurtful it could be. The world does not only turn for us.

  • You are your greatest enemy.

If we spend too much time degrading ourselves, we end up to be our greatest enemy. Out of everything that we do in our lives, no matter how many mistakes we make or how many fall downs we face, we should love ourselves and accept our imperfections. Be your own cheerleader and best friend.

  • True beauty comes from the heart.

Do not depend on the society's standard of beauty. You know what is true and you know that you are beautiful because there is goodness in your heart. Never let that go away. That is who you are, and that is what the world needs.

  • You can't buy time.

You can earn money but you can't buy the times that has passed. Give yourself a break, treat yourself and your loved ones, and wonder around you. There are a lot of things that money can't buy and if you can't figure out what they are, it's already the time to reflect before it becomes too late.


I can't fit in their galleries because I'm too dense to be there. I will only be seen as an art for the people who sees my depth - for the people who understand missing shades or unworthy lines, for the people who accepts random scribbles or unmeasured borders.

I am a work in progress, and not everybody sees that.

I hope you do.


To you, remember that I am always willing to listen to whatever you want to tell me - those deep secrets you can't tell your mom or your worries that you makes you not sleep at night.

I am a writer and I'm writing this for you, too. You are loved.

10
$ 0.05
$ 0.05 from @andrianlover
Avatar for WordsAndArts
3 years ago

Comments

Virgo

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Excellent work

Azykeith

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yiee. Welcome!

$ 0.00
3 years ago