You Can Look Five Years Younger

0 25
Avatar for Wongi_01
1 year ago

This is an article for people who love their skin. If you don't love your skin, you should still read the article ;⁠)

If you search for products to use on your skin, you see things like toner, cleanser, serum,sunscreen, vitamin C, moisturiser and the likes. If you could find a way to take care of your skin without a debit alert, I bet you would jump on the offer. But like they say, good things don't come cheap.

Due to stereotypes and wanting to emulate others, many people use products that they won't need to use on a normal day and that goes a long way to damage their once perfect skin.

There was a time I almost fell prey to this whole "skin care routine" thing. Before taking action concerning my health and wellbeing, I like seeking professional advice. I went ahead to ask a dermatologist if it's advisable to use sunscreen and her answer was a no. You're probably wondering why she said no right?

In her words "one in a million dark skinned people get sunburned because people with darker skin tones have more melanin in comparison to those with lighter skin tones. Using sunscreen on a dark skin is just your way of saying 'hello sun, look at me' and she has a point. She also clearly stated that I shouldn't start what I can't finish. It was at this point that I imagined myself using sunscreen for the remaining 100 years I have to live on earth. I better not start at all.

My reason for wanting to use sunscreen was the fact that I rarely step outside and once I do, it feels like all the rays from the sun are directed towards me. Not that I used to get sunburns, I just wanted to prevent my skin from the 'unknown'.

Disclaimer:Don't get me wrong, using sunscreen is very useful and somewhat vital.

There are better ways to protect your skin from the unknown and also maintain beauty at the same time. I'm going to share three ways with you.

  • Wear Protective Clothing:

There are some days when you just want to show the world your beautiful sleeveless dress but that would be to the detriment of your skin. Rocking your sleeveless, open back dress is dope but it shouldn't be everyday. Wearing protective clothings go a long way to protect our skin from UV rays. A suggestion would be wearing light coloured materials as dark colours attract heat.

  • Be Gentle With Your Skin:

I see people that harshly rub towels on their skin as if they were in a tug of war. Your skin is very sensitive and after having your bath, you should dab off the water, especially on your face. There is no rush and there is no war, take time to dab off all the water from your body before proceeding to rub creams.

  • Bath cold water:

Many people may not like this point but like I mentioned earlier, the skin is one of the most sensitive organs in our body and it's always responding to stimuli. Bathing hot water reaps your skin of its natural oils, making your skin susceptible to breakage, acne and the likes. Bathing with cold water on the other hand, helps in the production of more red blood cells which helps to keep your skin healthy, fresh and young.

These are but a few ways which we can protect our skin from harm. Your skin is your trademark, you wouldn't want to lose your trademark.

Beauty is in the skin! Take care of it, oil it, clean it, scrub it, perfume it, and put on your best clothes, even if there is no special occasion, and you'll feel like a queen." - Fatima Mernissi

Thank you for reading ✨

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Wongi_01
1 year ago

Comments