Environmental Physiology On Farm Animals

1 19
Avatar for Wonderboy
3 years ago

Another very interesting agricultural topic to treat on. I want to expose you guys to the outside world. I know well that some of you have already been exposed but I have not yet seen anyone that posts articles on agricultural topics as this. I will treat on Environmental Physiology On Farm Animals right now just sit back and read.

Environmental Physiology I think is concerned with the environment’s influence on the physiological function and performance of living organisms. These studies contribute to the optimization of techniques of animal husbandry and agriculture, with the aim of improving agricultural products. I hope this is well understood I really like carrying my readers along with me. There is nothing too hard to grab here it is already explained. It contributes with the activation of techniques in various ways of improving the productivity of a farm eg Animal Husbandry. See it's simple. Let's move on.

Effects of Changes of Temperature on Plant Growth

  • Temperature is necessary for plant germination of seeds.

  • It also affects the distribution crops and animals.

  • Too hot or too cold temperature does not favor plants and animals growth.

  • Unfavorable temperature may result in seed dormancy.

  • High temperature affects evapo-transpiration, and reduces the performance of

    livestock.

  • It affects the wilting of field crops, ripening and maturity of crops.

  • Temperature affects microbial activities in relation to mineralization of organic matters.

  • High temperature leads to loss of soil nutrients through volatilization.

  • High temperature may be harmful by causing premature dropping of fruits and sudden death of livestock e.g. heat-stress in poultry.

Effects or Changes of Temperature in the Growth of Farm Animals

  • Increase in temperature of blood in birds causes panting and water loss through

    evaporation.

  • Low temperature leads to mortality in birds.

  • High temperature leads to reduction in feed intake in chicks.

  • High rainfall leads to the multiplication of tse-tse flies which transmit trypanosomiasis.

  • High relative humidity leads to heat stress in farm animals e.g. cattle, poultry, piglet etc.

  • Wind helps in the spread of diseases (air borne diseases e.g. tuberculosis).

  • High humidity in poultry houses causes moldiness of feed, thereby leading to low feed intake and retard growth.

Effects of Changes of Temperature on Reproduction of Farm Animals

  • High temperature (heat stress) leads to abortion in farm animals.

  • High temperature leads to low rate of conception or fertilization in farm animals.

  • Light controls sexual maturity i.e. low light intensity is desirable during rearing of pullets to prevent early sexual maturity.

  • High temperature reduces or decreases heat periods in farm animals.

  • High temperature decreases ovulation in animals.

Effects of Changes of Relative Humidity on Crop and Farm Animals

  • It results in the formation of rain.

  • It affects the performance of crops and animals.

  • High humidity in poultry houses causes moulduness of feed and litters.

  • Low humidity causes aridity or dryness.

  • It determines the type of crops grown in an area.

  • High relative humidity affects food intake and productivity of farm animals.

  • Relative humidity determines the type of pests prevalent in an area.

  • High relative humidity favours the growth of disease pathogens.

Effects of Changes of Temperature on Poultry (Egg Production)

  • High temperature causes reduction in feed intake, while in low temperature it encourages more feed intake.

  • It reduces spermatogenesis and libido in males (The process when the testis produce both spermatozoa and testosterone during cell division).

  • High temperature may result in death of birds, particularly chicks and layers.

  • Temperature is necessary for incubation of eggs.

  • High temperature lowers egg production.

  • High temperature reduces the period of egg storage period.

  • High temperature reduces hatchability of eggs.

That is all I would like to give on this topic Environmental Physiology. You can see that Relative Humidity and Temperature also have connections with Environmental Physiology. They are linked. I believe that after reading this article you will be enlightened.

I want to make a comment. Please those who approve into different communities I want to just tell you something important. My articles can never be plagiarized. I am a well educated and well learned person. I post articles with points so that it will be easy to understand. That never or that doesn't make me a plagiarizer. Please the last article I posted was said not to be original and I don't see that as an encouraging remark. Please I hope I was not rude in the way I said it to you. I am sorry if I said it in a rude way but I wanted you to know how I feel.

I am new here and I know the rules. I am not a novice to all this kind of platforms. I have visited so many as this. Thanks and Bye.

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Wonderboy
3 years ago

Comments

As you said, I have not seen another article on agriculture other than yours. You shared valuable information. Agriculture is not something I am good at. I have not even planted flowers in pots recently. However, I am aware of how important nature, agriculture and animal husbandry are. I think it is valuable in people who deal with these issues. I would like to thank you for sharing your knowledge and experience on this matter with us.

$ 0.00
3 years ago