First time working abroad

0 8

“If you’re not happy where you are, leave.”

One of my life’s mottos and it is easier said than done I should say.

I graduated on year 2008 with a degree: Bachelor of Science in Nursing. It’s not the course of my choice. It just so happened that it is the in-demand course during that time, and since I don’t know what course should I take - I ended up just going with the flow. It’s a hard course to take and not to mention, really pricey. But I enjoyed it. Luckily graduated and passed the National Licensure exam for Nurses on same year.

After graduation and while waiting for the exam results, I managed to get into a secondary government hospital as a Nurse Volunteer with no salary, no cash or meal allowance. The main purpose is to gain clinical experience to be eligible to apply for a regular position and for overseas job opportunities. During that time, there’s an increase in the demand for Nursing Professionals abroad but you’ll be required to have at least 1-2 year/s of clinical experience in your home country. Since the competition to get a job item is too tight in my country due to huge number of Nursing graduates each year, most of us accepted the volunteering job.

Moving forward, after spending almost 2 years as a contractual employee, I managed to apply and be accepted for overseas job in a Government Hospital as a regular staff nurse with a better salary offer.

I got excited but at the same time nervous as I have no idea what’s in store for me in that foreign land plus it’s my first trip out of the country and my very first airplane ride 😬 (My many firsts), not to mention that I’ve never been away from my family ever.

Time had finally come, I have become an official Overseas Migrant Worker! First flight was luckily smooth though I almost got left behind due to delayed release of my visa from the agency 😅. It was such a struggle, it’s as if I was a contender on the Amazing Race!

First impression of the country - not so bad as what I’ve imagined it to be. It’s an Islamic country in the middle-east with a majority of non English speakers so language barrier was totally expected. Thanks to the pre-departure orientation seminar days prior to our flight, I didn’t experience much culture shock. In this country, you must abide by the laws of the Kingdom as they strictly impose punishments for the violators. It’s as conservative country, one must dress appropriately according to their norms. If you’re a non Muslim, you must practice your religion discreetly as to not make any offense meant. Alcohol, vices, and pork meat are strictly prohibited here. If you’re a female, you cannot go freely outside especially if you’re unmarried, you cannot take taxi alone. If you wish to go outside, it’s either you’ll go - accompanied by a married couple or take the sponsored coaster for malling/ shopping as per schedule. Also if you’re a female, you must cover your face when going outside, (this is not practiced in some places in the Kingdom, like in the major cities) you must not eat in a public place - there’s a designated area (family section) for you to eat. There’s so many restrictions but it’s bearable. I felt more secure.

Now, 10 years has past and I’m still here. I managed to survive, to be independent and live with all the restrictions and regulations. Overall, it’s not bad experience at all. I may have experienced some difficulties and home sickness but it’s all bearable. 😊

1
$ 0.00

Comments