Moda Verb Part 3

0 9
Avatar for Wayuk
Written by
3 years ago

I can't understand anything. ______________ you help me, please?

Should

May

Might

Could

  • In the test sentence ‘I can't understand anything. ______________ you help me, please?’ due to the context ‘…help me, please’ we understand that somebody is asking for help.When we make requests, we can use ‘can’ or ‘could’ (but not ‘may’ or ‘might’).‘Could’ is more polite than ‘can’: (more informal) Can I go home?; Can you do me a favour?; (more polite) Could I borrow you laptop today, please?; Could you give me a lift, please?; Could I have something to drink?Therefore, we are to choose ANSWER 4 ‘could’.

Mary says that she ________________ read minds.

can

might

must

have to

We often use ‘can’ to talk about someone’s skill or general abilities. This is something that once you have learnt you can do any time you want, like being able to read or swim or drive a car, for example: I can sing songs in English.; I can ride a horse.; She can speak several languages. If we paraphrase the test sentence ‘Mary says that she ________________ read minds.’, it will sound like: ‘Mary is able to read minds.’ Therefore, we are to choose ANSWER 1 (can).

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Wayuk
Written by
3 years ago

Comments