Conjunctions

0 14
Avatar for Wayuk
Written by
3 years ago

    Conjunction is a word which joins sentences and also links words, phrases and clauses.

Eg.

My former colleague came to our office yesterday and we had lunch together.

During last summer I went to the hill station and I enjoyed my stay at the hill station.

A car and a motorcycle are my immediate needs.

    The word AND is a conjunction in all the three sentences.

    In the first two sentences - two sentences are joined by the word AND.

    In the third sentence two nouns are joined by the word AND.

Example:-

    The underlined words in the following sentences are all different conjunctions.

He is rich but not happy.

You can use an ink pen or a ball point pen.

I have not seen the film nor have an interest to see the film.

The car is costly yet it is more comfortable.

After you had left your friend came for the function.

We preferred to go by train because it was cheaper than bus travel.

As I was about to start from my residence I had an urgent call from my office.

Though the doll is costly it is lovely.

Please call the watchman or the peon.

We should always plan properly before we start a project.

I like neither coffee nor tea but like to take buttermilk.

Conjunctions are classified as

Co-ordinating conjunctions

Subordinate conjunctions

Hi! English Grammar Learning Free Offline is one of the best app to learn and test your grammar ability. Click the link to download at:https://bit.ly/374UunL

2
$ 0.00

Comments