City Girls.

3 16
Avatar for WalkingMaria
2 years ago

There lots f perception about "city girls".Some might say they are rude snubs, can be recognized by skimpy clothes , not always cool headed, proud and are always on make up.

I have come to realise that not all city girls are like that because there individual differences.

After the Christmas festive season , as a new section began in St Catherine high school laqutoa a small village school in southern part of my country Uraki .We were so delighted because there were lots of Christmas experiences to share with friends.As our form teacher walked into the class he came in with someone ,he introduced her as a new student. She looked nice lanky, tall and pretty she wore a skimpy pinafore skirt that revealed some of the caramel skin between her skirt and long stockings that stopped on her thigh .she was really petty, everyone in the class could not stop looking at her .Our form teacher asked her to be my seatmate as she sat down be beside me sweet freshness of lavander scents filled the air .she said "am umah" i spread a fake smile across my lips ."nice smile" she said what is your name ,"Am Nene" .she said nice to meet you Nene. She was so calm during lessons ,she only talked if she did not hear what the teacher said well or if she wanted to see my text books. During break period i Did not go out to play volleyball with my friends because Umah had asked me to show her around the school. As i were showing her around the school premises' ,we were almost at the principal block when she said she was tried and brought out fancy snacks of foil cakes from a fancy nylon .She offered some of them to me I told her am not interested but she persuaded me to try some of her fancy foil cakes ,i did not know when I took some of the foil cakes from her .As a took a bite "oh yummy!! i looked at her with happiness and said" they taste nice ,did you bake them yourself" she said yes so i asked her if i could received free lessons on how to bake. she nodded her head without hesitation .Break period was over my friends asked me why I did not come to play volleyball with them ,i lied and told them i had running stomach and had gone to use the rest room.

Weeks and months passed i became close to Umah she taught me lots of things, how to dance city songs ,how to bake cakes and most above all how to talk or hold a conversion with boys.

One afternoon after school dismissal, i saw Umah talking with one of the boys i always wanted to have as a boyfriend, i got jealous and asked her what they always talked about when they were together she said the boy said he like her, i didn't believe her .I thought it was because of the fact that she was a "city girl" that she wanted to snatch this boy i always yearned for .From that moment i thought Umah had betrayed me i stopped talking to her ,we stop dancing together .My former friends mocked me and said that she dumped me i so was emotional down i did not eat very well for days ,most times I skipped my meals that I loosed some weight my mum was so worried about me .

At the end of the term i performed so badly i came tenth out of sixty pupils in class. I didn't believe my eyes when i went to the result board ,Umah came first she snatched my guy and also my position in class .I wrote to the form teacher for remarking of my scripts maybe umah used her "city girl "charm to be the first position.I hated her than ever.

I came back home one day, mum told me that she had been transferred to the city,i was so over joyed because now I was going to have a taste of city life as for Umah i heard she went back to the city because she complained of people treating her to take her life.

I got to the city and life was so nice .I discovered that there were different kinds of people with different cultural backgrounds they spoke different language, different way of dressing . The roads were so much busy compared to my village that hardly had busy roads except on market days. The form of settlement was different too .On the first day in my new school you won't believe who i saw Umah my rival .we are now stuck together now .Sometimes i asked myself what we are fighting for i can't pencil it down .I missed Umah she might be missing me too .One day after school dismissal someone was screaming at the rest room,as I heard the noise I moved towards the rest room it was Umah she had hurt her kneel ,i helped her to the school clinic she became well .The next day she approached me and thanked me. for saving her we started crying , we apologized to each other as we wept for joy . My mum saw us and was in shock u won't believe what mum said ,Umah is my twin sister although we dont look so much alike .Dad and mum had separated after we turned three . Dad married another woman that became Umahs step mother. I invited Umah to stay over in our house for dinner. We enjoyed the meal . When we asked Umah about dad she said he went for a business trip and never came back .Umah had told her her stepmother she wanted to live with us, she gave her the consent .Umah is now my close friend and sister .we live happily now .some times during the holidays we visit st Catherine's village school to see our friends too

....writing by walking Maria.

.

2
$ 0.12
$ 0.10 from @J.Matty
$ 0.02 from @CandyBoy
Avatar for WalkingMaria
2 years ago

Comments

is it fictional story?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nonfiction

$ 0.00
2 years ago

good story btw))

$ 0.00
2 years ago