My Cambodia Journey (2010)

0 14
Avatar for Violetlee
3 years ago

Hi guys! I am back. I am here to write about my Cambodia - Vietnam Travel. This was way back 2010 where Immigration Officers are not yet strict when it comes to people traveling outside the Philippines (My Hometown). Good news for first time travelers, Vietnam and Cambodia are accepting VISA ON ARRIVAL (VOA). So no need for applying for a visa before entering Vietnam or Cambodia.

I booked my flights as one way ticket first way back because my MAIN GOAL is to really find a JOB in either of those Countries. Fortunately, I was hired for a seasonal account in one of those Call Centers in Cambodia. I will post my work experience in another article.

For now, this article is all about me setting foot in a different country. Setting my foot where I don't know really know anyone. It's a bit challenging for me especially in Cambodia as not all of Cambodians can speak English Fluently so I need to learn their Language which is Khmer.

Okay, on to my flight booking. I booked my December Flight sometime in October 2010 because it is cheaper that month. When I already booked my flight, I checked hotel accommodation that can be refundable. I made sure that it is refundable just in case I can't get pass through the Immigration here in the Philippines. Luckily, I passed and I found myself at the boarding area.

Cambodia and Vietnam, here I come! I was excited. It's a new country, new environment and new atmosphere for me. But I am a little nervous as well thinking of what would happen to me when I started my journey there but still, I took risks. Whenever I travel, I always ask myself this: "AM I really ready for this?" Because when you travel for the first time SOLO and in a new country, sometimes, you can get this nervous feeling and you wanted to back out. I'm always like that even until now. But when I think of the expenses I have paid like tickets and accommodations and visas, I might as well continue on my plan. And it turns out just fine.

Tickets I bought is from Manila - Saigon (Ho Chi Minh) because it is cheaper and then I took a 10hour bus drive from Ho Chi Minh to Phnom Penh in Cambodia. There is a border Immigration that you need to cross so just be ready for your passport and Visa of Cambodia and your accommodation there. I will post on my next article how to get a Visa for Cambodia and questions the IO might asks you.

When I arrived in Cambodia, I felt like it was my second home. I just felt I am welcome there. People are friendly and super nice. They have this tradition of wearing Pajamas as their everyday clothe. They also have this tradition of only wearing make up when it is their wedding day. Even the Grooms are wearing a slight make up. I saw it with my own eyes as the Apartment I am living on where celebrating one of their Wedding Day.

I find it amusing because they Celebrated it in a more casual note. No more than 30-50 guests are invited and they are celebrating their Wedding Day for a week. Yes. ONE WHOLE WEEK. The Celebration includes their Vows, the reception and the cutting of the Cake.

One of my Roommate invited me to join them so I personally experience how they celebrate it. I find it very interesting as they have this tradition that the Family of the Bride will be the one to give Dowry or Gift to the Family of the Groom. In short, the Bride's family will be the one going to propose to the Groom. Sounds Weird right?

Anyway, I will post more articles on my next update. Let me know in the comments section if you have anything you want me to write on my next articles and will try to post it for you guys.

Cheerio,

Violet Lee

Sponsors of Violetlee
empty
empty
empty

1
$ 3.49
$ 3.49 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Violetlee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Violetlee
3 years ago

Comments