A Boy Living In Australia during 70's

0 8
Avatar for Vikky231
2 years ago

Hey,

This is my story about a boy living in Australia during the 70’s!

He suffers from Brittle Bone Disease, also known as: ‘Osteogenesis Imperfects’!

_______________________

The New Life

My life began at 33 weeks, like most women my mother couldn’t carry to full term...but something was different in this pregnancy.

Once I was born, doctors & nurses realized there was something wrong with me!

They warned my mother that I might not even make it to see my 16th birthday & that my bones are very weak & could snap from the simplest fall.

She didn’t listen to them about me dying & against all odds, I made it & I am striving!

Before I was born, mum already had four children & after my birth, she had two more.

Today is the first day of September & it’s my 16th!

Right now I was meant to be dead or very ill, but I am standing!

I often use my wheelchair or crutches, but not today!

I just blew out the candles of my cake........by myself & STANDING!

“HAPPY BIRTHDAY!” she cheered, hugging me.

“I can’t believe it will be 1975 soon!” my older brother Jack said, in awe.

“I wonder what 1980 will be like?” wondered Ruth.

“Why?” I asked, confused.

“Women’s rights, hopefully all that will change by then!” she replied, rolling her eyes.

She was a feminist & some mean kids call her a ‘lesso’?!

Mum saw I was still standing & forced me to sit down.

“Darling, be more careful!” she cooed, stroking my hair.

“Stop fussing over me! I’m a man now” I said, partly annoyed.

Most teens on their sweet 16th would be: Partying, drinking, having sex, doing drugs, surfing & a hell of a lot more!

“Sweetie, you’re not like other boys your age” she pleaded, nervously.

So, after digesting the cake, we all went down to the beach (Bondi Beach) for a picknick.

Since it was my special day, mum let me walk down the beach, with the help of my siblings!

I can’t believe the Vietnam War is over soon!

While all my family played in the surf, I had to wait on the sand.

I wish I could surf, but mum says I am too sick.

“Baby, will you be ok by yourself?” she asked, getting up from the sand.

“Yeah, where are you off to ?” I asked, confused.

“Never you worry, just be patient & wait here” she replied, leaving.

Mark saw her drive off & went over to me.

“Where’s she off to?”.

“She didn’t say....are those boards over there for hire?” I asked, pointing to a couple of surfboards on the sand.

“Yeah, why?” he asked, nervously.

“I want to learn how to surf” I replied, bravely.

“I don’t know if you should, you could get seriously hurt or worse!” he replied, fretting over me once more!

“Please let me learn to surf! I just want to be a normal teen!” I begged, in tears.

“But you need to rest, remember what the doctor said!” he said, trying not to give in to my puppy dog eyes.

“Mark, today I was meant to die....I am living longer than our grandparents” I whispered, darkly.

He thought about it first....

“Fine, but your only allowed to go in for a bit & not near the big waves!”

I instantly hugged him & cried tears of joy!

“YES YES! I KNEW I COULD COUNT ON YOU!”

So, he went into the surf shop.

“Hey Jordon, your standing” said Lisa, coming out of the surf.

“Sure am! Mark promised to teach me how to surf” I said, leaning on an armchair.

“Are you sure you should do that?” she wondered, nervously.

“Different is my middle name sis!” I laughed.

“Huh...your middle name is ‘Alexander’” she said, not getting the joke.

“I was joking you silly billy” I giggled, tickling her.

_______________________

What do you think so far?

I will post more tomorrow!

1
$ 0.00
Avatar for Vikky231
2 years ago

Comments