Science or Arts?

0 19
Avatar for Victoria
3 years ago

Hello, everybody! I request you to spare just a few minutes to read my article and comment on what are your views on this issue.

I'm sure that you've made certain choices of subjects atleast once in your life. So, what did you choose? Science? Commerce? Or Arts? I'm sure most of you've opted science or maybe were forced to opt (just like me, obviously).

It's the bitter truth of the Indian society that science is believed to be the subject of the smarts, while arts is supposed to be the friend of the dumbs. Atleast the society I live in, have this pattern of thinking. Least we forget to notice that, there is "Art" in "Smart". I did my 10+2 from PCM+Computer category, which is supposed to be the purest of the pure science. But was it worth doing for me? I say no, it was not. If science was my cup of tea, I'd have been doing Btech. or maybe BSc. , but instead I'm doing BA English (Hons).

Let me tell you, switching from Science to Arts stream after 12th was the most easiest decision of my life, yet so difficult. Difficult, because I'd to persuade my parents and unfortunately some of my relatives as well for this. I don't understand why is it so important for parents to listen to the unwanted advices of relatives. But that's how this society works, though it should not.

Most of the parents want their child to be engineers and doctors but hardly anyone wants them to be writers or poets or critics (can't forget the civil servants, which generally is the child's own choice).

I've studied both the streams science as well as arts, (can't say about commerce), and with experience I can say Arts subjects are not easy. English, History, Geography, Political science, Psychology, all of these require patience and certainly deeper knowledge, ( I'm not saying that science is easy, but neither is arts, as it is supposed to be). Science is about facts while arts require you to think beyond the facts. In science the derivation or formulas follow a definite pattern, while arts is indefinite. In arts, sometimes just a single sentence is enough to portray the thoughts while other times even paragraphs seem less. There is no limit of exploration and imagination in arts, unlike science. Science makes you question the facts, while arts makes you question yourself. All this is what fascinated me and lead me to do English(Hons).

Another important thing that lack the attention of people is "Proper guidance." India is the fastest growing economy of the world, still most of the children have no access to proper guidance. I still remember my first poem. I wrote it when I was 13 years old, in 7th standard. But till 12th I could not discover my field of interest. Nobody was to guide me or tell me that I should better go for Arts instead of Science. It was only after 12th that I realised what my passion was. Recently, I've completed my 1st year of graduation and I'm eagerly waiting for more to come. Poems, Plays and Stories makes me happy, and I believe one should do the things that makes him happy.

I just want the experienced part of the society to think. Think beyond the limits. Think for the happiness of your children and not for the satisfaction of the society. Let them choose what they want to be. Let them be who they are and not force them to be like others.

Moreover, children too should try to persuade and explain the thinking pattern of the new generation to their parents.

After all, dreams are beautiful and worth fighting for!

So, choose what you love, do what you like and be who you are!

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Victoria
3 years ago

Comments